Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-06-2008, 06:29 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cwmbran, South Wales, UK
Posts: 29
Gutted!

So my cycling was complete, water parameters looked good and the day was here 2 add my first fish to the tank. Good times!

Went to the LFS and got myself 2 lively looking tank bred clown fish, and a chalkfaced Goby.

Got home, put them in the tank using an acclimatizer, and things were looking good as they began to settle in. Until.....

I noticed a drop of water at the base of my tank, opened the door to find the whole underside was flooded! As I looked into it, it looked like my skimmer pump had toppled off its mount and cracked the sump bottom. I now am the proud owner of a 2 foot crack in my sump :0(

Bad times!
__________________

__________________
jasonoconnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 08:35 AM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Sorry to hear that. I hope things get better.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 10:04 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
OUCH! Is the crack repairable or are you looing at a new sump?
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 11:33 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Tank2379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via MSN to Tank2379 Send a message via Yahoo to Tank2379
Oh man that hurts.....
Tank2379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 01:10 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cwmbran, South Wales, UK
Posts: 29
Its a new sump without question. The guys at my LFS have kindly loaned me a 4ft tank to act as a temporary sump while the new one is made.

Getting the old one out was challenge enough, getting a new one back in will be the same, as the main tank is 6ft wide. Gonna need me some vertical jacks to take the weight while new sump is loaded in.

This I could do without, but, at least my new fish are doing well, and the live rock will be doing its job for sure.
__________________
jasonoconnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 08:18 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Is the tank glass or acryllic. My sump went in after the tank was set up. Actually I replaced my wet/dry converted to sump to a real sump. I found that what I thought was a center brace for my glass tank was really only a door stop. It was knocked out with a piece of wood and a hammer and put back in after the sump was replaced.
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.