Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 06-30-2015, 08:06 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Hammer coral

When is a good time to add a hammer coral ?

Old 06-30-2015, 09:44 PM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin

POTM Champion

If the tank is cycled, stable water parameters and good lighting you can add anytime.

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 09:55 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
If the tank is cycled, stable water parameters and good lighting you can add anytime.
What do you mean by stable sorry I am a noob meaning like stable calc alkalinity nitrate ect?
Old 06-30-2015, 10:14 PM   #4
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin

POTM Champion

Nitrates. If you do weekly water changes the alk and calc will be fine.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 10:44 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
Nitrates. If you do weekly water changes the alk and calc will be fine.
what lights would you recommenced i use these for a 20g x high tank

http://www.amazon.com/Galaxyhydro-tr...ds=galaxyhydro
Old 07-01-2015, 04:14 AM   #6

A light with focus on lots of blue would be my best recommendation. I have had great success with Kessil.

I'd like to say magnesium is pretty important for these guys. They are also quick growers in my opinion and will take up calcium and carbonates (kh) from the water quickly in a 20g environment as they grow their hard skeleton.. (As you see more growth do more water changes haha)