Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-05-2009, 05:23 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: South FL
Posts: 17
have i been mislead?

Hello to all and thanks in advance.First let me say this site is awesome..thanks so much for it.OK..I have a brand new 75 gal fowlr.The plan was to buy LR uncured.Luckily, LFS called said have cured for same price.Apparently a friend was breaking down tank, here you go.Great deal.But the guy, an actual marine biologist,said tank would be ready for fish almost immediately.So it was running with live sand and water for about 3 weeks, LR added 1/28.Tests are 0 amm,0 nitrite and 10 nitrate.Ammonia never spiked.So I added 10 snails and 10 hermits yesterday.Doing great on some algae that started.Just want to make sure before I add a fish..don't want a casualty.And if I do still have to cycle,can cuc stay in??I NEVER had any ammonia show, tested every day.
__________________

__________________
garpsmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 05:25 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
If your LR was already cured then you might not see the cycle. I would give it a few more days.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 05:27 PM   #3
member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tyler, Texas
Posts: 910
Send a message via AIM to MichaelsLilGray Send a message via Yahoo to MichaelsLilGray
From my understanding, your cycle might not show like normal. Instead of an ammonia spike, your PH will just have a quick drop.. usually the sign of a completed cycle.
__________________
MichaelsLilGray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 05:41 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: South FL
Posts: 17
So I shouldn't mess with it? No raw shrimp? My 1st sw (obviously) but have had fresh over 10 yrs..like pets,don't want to kill my son's 1st Nemo!
__________________
garpsmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 06:21 PM   #5
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
I'm not sure where the PH advice comes from but I'm onboard with Melosu. Test for the next day or 2. If you don't see any ammonia or nitrite then you're good to go. If you do, continue testing. If you don't plan on adding fish right away remember to add an ammonia source to feed the bacteria.

FWIW I've never had or heard of a PH drop a the end of a cycle. Your PH may flucuate during the cycle but I'm not sure about a big drop indicating the end. Could be wrong though, wouldn't be the first time.
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 07:50 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
lynxpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ava, MO
Posts: 141
pH drop makes sense, since ammonia is a base. CO2 dissolved in water forms a weak acid. Once the ammonia goes bye bye, CO2 effect is predominant. Hopefully LR would be a nice alkaline buffer in the end.
__________________
lynxpilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 08:11 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I agree with Mike and Captain...give it a few days and test and see what you get then test again to make sure. No sense in rushing and causing the death of fish and slowing down the process as well as loosing money. Take your time and enjoy the process.
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 09:23 PM   #8
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
Quote:
Originally Posted by lynxpilot View Post
pH drop makes sense, since ammonia is a base. CO2 dissolved in water forms a weak acid. Once the ammonia goes bye bye, CO2 effect is predominant. Hopefully LR would be a nice alkaline buffer in the end.
I guess that works if all you have is H2O, ammonia and CO2
__________________

__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.