Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-03-2011, 11:32 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 16
having nitrate problems

hey guys,
i just got my friends fowlr setup and have had it running at my house for a week now and he has had it running for close to 2 years now. My amonia and nitrites are at 0ppm my ph is 8.2 but my nitrates are at 80ppm.I've done 3 water changes this week and it hasn't lowered it at all.
its a 65g tank with a metal halide light, live rock and live sand and a 20g sump. i do not have a protein skimmer yet but will be getting 1 soon
i was wondering if theres a way i can lower the nitrates to add 1 or 2 clownfish just so i dont have a empty tank to look at.
And what would be a good nitrate ppm to add the clowns at? i know its ideal to be at 20 and below

please help me out i should be getting my skimmer in a week
__________________

__________________
tnips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 11:40 PM   #2
member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,063
How much of a water change? The protein skimmer will help. Once you get that do weekly water changes and everything should settle properly.
__________________

__________________
Dylan5359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 11:56 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
why does it have halides over it? sounds like a waste for a FOWLR.

if you just moved the tank, you probably stirred up the sand bed during the move. it's going to take time to remove the nutrients. i would continue to do water changes (20% at a time) until you've reached the desired levels.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 12:03 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 16
i do 10 gallons at a time

i have the metal halide because im going to put corals in it later on and he had that as the only light for the tank

at what lvl of nitrates could i add the 2 clowns at?
__________________
tnips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 12:07 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
i would get it down to at least 40, but 20 would be better.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 12:12 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 16
alright and my LFS told me i should ditch my bio balls and add a sock instead. Would this help or r they trying to get me to buy more stuff?
O and in the bottom of my first chamber i have 2 foam pads and my friend said he hasnt cleaned em in awhile would cleaning these or replacing them help at all or should i remove them to get better flow
__________________
tnips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 12:15 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
a sock will do nothing for nitrates. ditching the bio balls might though.
toss the foam pads. that should help a lot. don't bother replacing them.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 12:19 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 16
So should i ditch the pads and bio balls and just add a sock for the time being just to filter a little bit in till i add my skimmer?
__________________
tnips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 12:21 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
how much live rock is in the tank?
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 12:24 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 16
he didnt know exactly but it seems like around 60 or 70lbs and about 70 lbs of live sand
__________________

__________________
tnips is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fowlr, nitrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nitrate Problems realdeal Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 06-01-2008 11:45 AM
nitrate problems dorian965 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 09-25-2005 10:19 AM
algea, nitrate, and my problems BmxBandGeek Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 05-12-2004 11:39 PM
Nitrate Problems Fishboy-from-NY Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 12-08-2003 11:02 PM
NITRITE AND NITRATE PROBLEMS, PLEASE HELP ME!!!!! something_fishy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 01-27-2003 09:37 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.