Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 04-06-2005, 03:19 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict

Hello!

First let me start by saying hello, and thank god I found this site. I am new to the world of saltwater aquariums and am eager to get started!

I just bought my first house and decided "Hey what better way to spruce up the living room, but with a nice SW tank!" ... I have had FW tanks all my life but never SW. I figured since I am going to be in this house for a while this would be the best time to start one!

O.K. so now, Let me tell you what I have planned ... I have a 30 gallon tall, dimensions are 30x12x17.5, was a FW tank and was recently drained and is now just sitting! I have read, read, and read some more then I took a break and read some more ..... NOW I am just confused!

I want to get everything that will best suit my tank size, and be able to setup a healthy thriving tank. I understand the cycling process and water testing stuff, I am just stuck on exactly what products would be best for my tank. Filters, Lighting, PH, Sumps, Skimmers etc. etc. etc. do I need all of this if not what do I need? what brands? how big?
Are you starting to get my drift?

Money is tight, but not really an issue. Just remember I am a beginner and don't want to spend the New Mortgage payments

Thanks in advance,
Jermz

Old 04-06-2005, 03:37 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Welcome to AA!!!!!! First thing I would suggest is get a bigger tank! You'll have to decide if you want a reef tank(corals and such) or just fish. Once you make that decision we can get more into detail of what kind of equipment you will need.

Old 04-06-2005, 03:49 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict