Hello!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jermz79

Aquarium Advice Addict
First let me start by saying hello, and thank god I found this site. I am new to the world of saltwater aquariums and am eager to get started!

I just bought my first house and decided "Hey what better way to spruce up the living room, but with a nice SW tank!" ... I have had FW tanks all my life but never SW. I figured since I am going to be in this house for a while this would be the best time to start one!

O.K. so now, Let me tell you what I have planned ... I have a 30 gallon tall, dimensions are 30x12x17.5, was a FW tank and was recently drained and is now just sitting! I have read, read, and read some more then I took a break and read some more ..... NOW I am just confused!

I want to get everything that will best suit my tank size, and be able to setup a healthy thriving tank. I understand the cycling process and water testing stuff, I am just stuck on exactly what products would be best for my tank. Filters, Lighting, PH, Sumps, Skimmers etc. etc. etc. do I need all of this if not what do I need? what brands? how big?
Are you starting to get my drift?

Money is tight, but not really an issue. Just remember I am a beginner and don't want to spend the New Mortgage payments

Thanks in advance,
Jermz

Welcome to AA!!!!!! First thing I would suggest is get a bigger tank! You'll have to decide if you want a reef tank(corals and such) or just fish. Once you make that decision we can get more into detail of what kind of equipment you will need.

Bigger tank is outta the question! Not a whole lot of room in my new house and this tank has sentimental value!

As for what type of tank I want? I want to do a FOWLR tank, just a few little clowns and maybe a Gobbie (sp?), and a clean up crew! Am I out of mind for this tank or should I be o.k.?