Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-12-2009, 11:03 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
AdamHorton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 575
Hello everyone

Hello, my name is Adam and I'm from Ohio, USA. I've been keeping fish for about a year and a half seriously, and I've just started a page on my website with details about my aquariums:

Adam's FLog

Any advice or comments are welcome. You can either post them here or send me E-mail (a link is on the aquarium page). Thanks!

-Adam Horton
__________________

__________________
AdamHorton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 06:19 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jessicasmarine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MCRD PI, SC
Posts: 660
Welcome to AA, interesting link
__________________

__________________
-Zack
I blame Craig AND his stupid List.
jessicasmarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 06:47 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 122
Thank God the fish are small and the tank large. At least the pollution will be diluted over many gallons and give them a chance a survival, with or without impairment.

You have not skipped the cycle, simply diluted because of the large amount of water. The bacteria will grow to support the life within thus your 'spike' may be small, again due to dilution and the small/few specimens in the tank.

Those pics don't look like 50 lbs of LR and if your sump is really 5-10 gallons you may have some filtration issues down the road.

Good luck with it though. You're the poster child for recommending getting a super large tank to start.. It helps.. you and the livestock.
__________________
All proffered in a IMO, non offensive, nicey nice posting..............IMO
CementShoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 08:53 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
AdamHorton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 575
CementShoes-

That's the first thing I've heard that's made any sense, that cycle has been diluted and not skipped. I have a question then, what will happen when I start to add more livestock to the tank? My guess is that I may see another diluted cycle while the amount of bacteria of each kind increases in number to support more ammonia waste from more fish. I do have a wet-dry filter, though (there's a picture of it towards the bottom of the FLog link), and I've heard that those often house too much of that kind of bacteria, resulting in higher nitrate levels. I want to start adding a few corals and anemones soon, as well as maybe a few more and larger fish in the future -- will this diluted cycle cause any complications when that happens?

I'm pretty sure it's 50 pounds of live rock, since that's what I paid for, though it really doesn't look like much in that huge tank... I want to add a refugium down the road, but it's not entirely clear how I should do it with my filter setup as it is.

Again, thanks for your help.

-Adam
__________________
AdamHorton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 09:57 AM   #5
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
You should not even think about corals till your tank has matured and is stable.That means 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites and low nitrates with 0 being the goal. When I say stable I mean it has to stay that way and not have swings of those parameters.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 10:22 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
AdamHorton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 575
It's been more than 4 weeks since I've had any significant readings (above 0) in any of those. Nitrate has been constantly zero, Nitrite has been 0 for a couple of weeks and very low (0.05 ppm) before that, Ammonia has been between the two lowest colors on my color card (0.25 ppm and 0) and getting closer to zero every time. I still plan on waiting a week or two (minimum) to get one anemone for my clownfish, should I wait longer?
__________________
-Adam Horton-
AdamHorton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 10:53 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 122
Add slowly, though i would expect you'd see nothing more than a blip on the a/n/n readings because of the size. I would worry more when you go to add more LR. Cure it well.. YOURSELF.. even if you buy 'cured' rock. Put 50-100lbs of non cured/partially cured rock in there and your dilution advantage comes to an end.
__________________
All proffered in a IMO, non offensive, nicey nice posting..............IMO
CementShoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 11:47 AM   #8
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
An anenome needs to be in a mature tank of at least 6-9 months old. They can not handle swings in the tank.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 03:43 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
AdamHorton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 575
Silly question: suppose some day I had a whole bunch of live rock, and a lovely, beautiful reef on top of it. How much live rock would you say makes enough "filter media" for me to take out the wet/dry filter I have and replace it with, maybe a refugium or something, without sending the whole ecosystem down the toilet?

I know some people use only live rock for filtration and it works, but how much live rock would I need to do that in a 150 gallon tank?
__________________
-Adam Horton-
AdamHorton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 01:06 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 637
You need to wait, read a lot of the articles posted, and wait some more. I think that you will see that most of the people that have SW tanks waited at least a couple of weeks before adding ANY fish and you have 8.

I would do a 50% water change if I saw ANY NH4OH in my tank.

That is a very nice setup you have. I would start with 150 lbs of live rock for a 150 gal tank

The cardinal rule of SW aquaria

The only thing that happens fast in a SW world is a tank crash. GO SLOW!!!
__________________

__________________
mdaniel2882 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.