Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-29-2003, 08:15 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: West Chester, PA
Posts: 128
hey, I'm also new to this. I was wondering how to wash the sand from home depot. I am setting up a 55, I want to use about 1 1/2 inches of live sand and maybe 10 or more pounds of LR. I would use a power filter, skimmer, and 2 PH's. I don't have enough loot for 75lbs of LR. I read in a lot of articles that between 1 and 3 inches of sand is good. I was wondering what you thought? I was mainly trying to figure out how to wash the sand, but any advice from an experienced person helps.
Hookman
__________________

__________________
Hookman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2003, 08:58 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,151
I have heard from many, and I believe that the silty stuff that clouds your tank up is good for it. I would not wash it. But if you do I think Logan has a trick. I would go with 2-5 inches on the DSB
__________________

__________________
If you don't love what you do, you'd better find something else to love. Otherwise, you don't have a reason for living.
-Ray B.
d9hp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2003, 09:09 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Cleveland, Oh. USA
Posts: 2,158
Send a message via AIM to ReefRaff Send a message via MSN to ReefRaff Send a message via Yahoo to ReefRaff
I have heard an easy way to wash it is to put some in a 5 gallon bucket, take a hose with a sprayer on the end, and push it down into the sand. MAKE SURE the water is not on full blast. the sand should tumble and fall to the bottom while the silt runs over the sides. Do this till you can see the bottom of the bucket. I really strongly sug that you use at least 100 lbs of sand, 10-14 dollars at most at home depot.
ReefRaff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2003, 09:22 PM   #14
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Hm, I have not washed my sand when I use it. Of course my tank is usually clowdy for a few days. But that gives you the maximum amount of particle size disparity.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2003, 09:29 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,151
As Aaron said, it may be cloudy for a few days, but you cant have any fish the first few days anyways. Unless you want to kill them of course.
__________________
If you don't love what you do, you'd better find something else to love. Otherwise, you don't have a reason for living.
-Ray B.
d9hp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2003, 09:44 PM   #16
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
If you are going to use the regular silica play sand, try to move a few bags around to get to the middle of the pallete before putting them on the cart to purchase. I believe this will have helped the sand stay away from the harmful fertilizers that they seem to store it with...I washed mine because it was one of a few left, and right next to it 2 palletes down was scotts turf builder. So, I put it in a 5 gal bucket with the spray nozzle and ran until clear. dumped and did some more until I had enough...If you are going to use Southdown or Yardright play sand, it is from what I understand, packed in plastic bags. This will be ok to just add water and go. I do not suggest rinsing that sand.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2003, 09:54 PM   #17
AA Team Emeritus
 
michealprater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Highland , IL
Posts: 2,311
Send a message via Yahoo to michealprater
I would think that fertilizers would be the least of the problems. You have to remember one main risk when using silica sand. It is taken from the ground in bulk. Loaded by large tractors that could easily leak motor and hydraulic oil into it. Now by no means am I saying dont use it, because that is what I used in my FO tank. I am just pointing out one of the risks.

With that being said I would not rinse the sand. The smaller particles are benificial to the fauna in your DSB.
__________________

__________________
michealprater is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
starting

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nearly out of the hobby austinsdad Archive 8 06-16-2009 08:26 PM
New to the hobby dbbuild19 Member Introductions 3 10-19-2008 03:40 PM
Starting the SW hobby with coral propagation? Billsgate Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 04-11-2006 05:46 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.