Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-03-2010, 05:26 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Help!!! I am completely new to saltwater fish

Hello

I just bought a 125 gallon fish tank on craigslist saltwater. I just picked it up and I am setting it up in my place. It has fluval filters. I have 4 african cichlid tanks ranging from 180 gallon to 10 gallon. I have a few questions.

How do I go about changing the water when its time to change it?

Can I use tap water when I change the water?

How do I add salt to the tank is that ok?

Can I vacuum the gravel like you would a freshwater tank?

I am really new to this and never had a saltwater tank and I have 6 fish that came with it, that I am in the process of trying to identify.

Thanks

Old 08-03-2010, 05:33 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

Hello,
1-Syphon the water out into a bucket, then pour pre-mixed and ariated salt water back in. NEVER add salt to the DT, always pre-mix 24hours in advance.
2-Dont use tap water. You will wind up with many headaches due to the contaminates in it. Use DI water.
3-See #1
4-There shouldnt be any gravel in this tank, it will wind up trapping decaying organics and thus cause a nitrate problem. You need sand. If its too late, yes you can vacuum but do so gently. Dont get the stuff all stirred up bad.

Youve come to the right place! The people here will have you on the right path shortly. Post some pics of the fish in the ID forum. Also, youll want to read up on the many articles devoted to having a new tank.

Matt

Old 08-03-2010, 05:43 PM   #3

Hello

Thanks for answering so fast. However what does DT mean?

Also what does DI mean, when you say to use DI water?