Help!! Im a newbie!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FynFysh818

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi All,

I am new to this marine tank hobby...so bare with me. I got a 37 gallon tank. It has a backpack protein skimmer and a 150 watt heater. I bought coral subtrate. Here is were I am getting unsure....I live in an apartment on a school campus and the apartment is not conclusive to mix salt in a big tub or anything like that. I cycled and dechlorinized my taped water for about a week...I then added the salt because I have no other place to mix it. Now I am cycling the water. Am I doing ok? Or did I do it wrong? I also cant afford LR right now either, do i really need LR....please help. I feel like I am doing something wrong.