Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-16-2013, 05:58 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
kwandrsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Nunnelly Tennessee
Posts: 2,072
While I was cleaning to buildup I noticed the silicone coming off

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130116_155730.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	61.0 KB
ID:	144785
__________________

__________________
kwandrsn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 06:12 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I would check and see if it holds water. Always do a leak test. On a new or used tank.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 06:45 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
kwandrsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Nunnelly Tennessee
Posts: 2,072
Can I just peel the silicone for the inside and add a new bead without having to take the glass apart?
__________________
kwandrsn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 08:01 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
You can, but you have to do the entire tank. Scrape it spotless, and re-caulk all seams.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 08:55 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
rob_stl_mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: st louis mo
Posts: 35
I'm in the same boat with my tank. Bought a 75 gallon a d it was filthy. Not as bad as yours. Cleaned out the tank and sump. Sanded and primered the stand. While cleaning the tank some of the edges of silicone you could peak if you wanted. Mainly where the overflow is caulked in. It holds water and doesn't leak a bit. Should I redo the silicone or is it good. I still have water in it cause I heard its bad to leave them dry for long periods. Sorry for the rant, not trying to steal the thread. Lol
__________________
rob_stl_mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 09:05 PM   #36
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
kwandrsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Nunnelly Tennessee
Posts: 2,072
Here is the stand I just built with 2 - 2x4x8 , 4 - 1x4x8, 2 - 1x10x6 and a box of 2" decking screws



Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130116_190400.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	60.8 KB
ID:	144838




Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130116_190412.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	60.7 KB
ID:	144839



Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130116_190430.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	60.1 KB
ID:	144840



Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130116_190451.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	54.7 KB
ID:	144841

Covered with a black twin sized sheet
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130116_190335.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	54.7 KB
ID:	144836   Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130116_190346.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	62.4 KB
ID:	144837  

__________________
kwandrsn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 09:11 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
rob_stl_mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: st louis mo
Posts: 35
Looks good man. And it sounds like you got a decent deal on your tank. Especially of you don't have to buy much
__________________
rob_stl_mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 09:14 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
kwandrsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Nunnelly Tennessee
Posts: 2,072
I have to buy 1 new compact bulb. A hydrometer , salt, thermometer , a test kit. And I think I'm ready to start as long as I don't have to reseal
the tank

The manufacturer of stealth heaters is sending me a new one because of the recall
__________________
kwandrsn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 09:19 PM   #39
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
rob_stl_mo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: st louis mo
Posts: 35
Good deal. I'm still out a little before I start mine. Need rock, sand, and I have two lights I'm planning on purchasing. May just reseal the tank so I don't have any worries. Haven't decided yet
__________________
rob_stl_mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 09:22 PM   #40
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
kwandrsn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Nunnelly Tennessee
Posts: 2,072
Yeah I'm wondering ifI should reseal mine. It isn't leaking. And I don't know if the rock and sand I have is good yet gonna take a brush and water to the rocks
__________________

__________________
kwandrsn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
salt, saltwater, setup

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.