Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 02-05-2015, 07:08 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
Help me decide!

Hello everyone! I am new to the salt water section of this forum. My friend just gift me a 20 gallon but think of changing it to a 50 gallon. I was thinking of using it for freshwater but I really been wanting to start a saltwater for many reasons 1) fish are way prettier, 2) I already have a 20g freshwater.
My question is, should I keep the 20g and convert it to a saltwater or change it to a 50g?
I want to be able to put many fish in the long run and not be able to overstocked easily.
How much can I put in a 20g???
Thanks hopefully I hear from you guys soon.

briemol12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 08:21 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Go big or go home. Bigger is easier in salt water.

Mebbid's Fishtopia: Various builds
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 08:39 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
I think it was suggested in another thread to start here for this. http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/a....cfm?c=15+2124
You'll notice on the right side of this link a set of drop down boxes to help refine things. It's not "the" bible but fairly close and respectable. I started with a 14g BioCube and and I've got a goby/pistol shrimp pair. I hear the pistol more than I see it so it just doesn't have that "pop" I was looking for.

Totally agree with Mebbid on going big. Opens up A LOT more possibilities for sticking. I would suggest utilizing the 20 for this project as a sump/fuge. It will add to the total water volume making it easier to obtain/keep more stable parameters.

Sent from my iPhone that doesn't like me. Or you !!