Help me in my 125gallon saltwater quest... (newbie)...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

e burna

Aquarium Advice Activist
I'm a newbie to the salt water... I know tropical fish... I currently have a 36gallon bow tank with african cichlids... I'm not extreme in that I don't do the water jets or any live plants with the lighting and all, but I'm not an idiot either and am more than willing to learn, but you guys have to take it easy on me, lol.

I am a bar owner, I bought a 125 gallon tank to put up at my bar. I think saltwater would be the way to go in that it is going to look the 'sweetest' and get people talking. I've spoke to people and I've heard I want to get a type of eel, a small shark, and a 'dogfish'... sound compatible?

Aside from that, my first real step is going to be the tank setup... currently it's sitting empty, no gravel, filters, anything really. As I said, I've never done salt, so please take it easy on me if I ask something that might sound stupid.

For getting a tank setup that size, would it be more economical for me to buy online or from local (chain) pestore? We also have a few 'home grown' fish places around but I haven't visited yet as I don't want them to think I've blown them off (no homo) if I don't go through a purchase being that I'm a business owner. I guess I've always been a little shy going places at first until I've made up my mind because I don't like the salesman hassle basically.

So, that being said, will I get a better deal ordering or going to the local store? I don't mind overpaying a few dollars if I'm going to get much better service hands on etc etc at a local fishstore, but I also don't want to overpay several hundred dollars no matter how good the service. I don't mind doing the research myself and figuring things out. HELP! lol