Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-09-2005, 11:49 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
Quote:
I'll just have to stay on top of it with water changes. I'll need to keep a close eye on pH and SG anyway so....
If its gonna work, it will take about a week to stablize. You may even have to do 2 changes a day and test the ammonia at least once a day. Hopefully your biofilter will catch up. If not, my Idea is a good bailout. Beats getting another tank.
And watch that PH if using hypo, it will take a dive during the transition.
Good luck to you
__________________

__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2005, 11:59 PM   #12
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
I already have afileter in teh main tank soaking up the good bacteria. The QT will have a biowheel on it too. So the bacteria for NH3/NO2 should be there. Not too worried about NO3 in the QT.

The hypo is going to be done in the new 30 gal QT. The main tank is staying as with LR and the inverts but fishless for the cycle.

The 12 gal eclipse will house the mandarin if I can get him to eat prepared food. Otherwise he goes back to the main tank and I hope he's free of Ich and not a carrier.
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 06:37 PM   #13
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
What did you decide on with the mandarin and how are the larger fish fairing?

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 08:34 PM   #14
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
I didn't start the treatment yet. The couple of spots I saw are gone so I decided to take a little time and plan it out a bit better. I just got some more macro for my sump/fuge and a new detrivore kit.

I'm going to partially fill two tubs and mix about 15 gallons in each after I fill the 30 gallon QT. The tubs will be to house the rock I need to remove so I can catch the fish. So next weekend I'll put all the fish in the 30 gal QT except for the mandarin. That will go in the old 12 gallon QT along with some rock. I'm hoping I have enough pods to keep him going while I try to introduce some other food to him. After two weeks I figure I can go back to pods from the fuge as the free swimming stage of the parasite should be over.

How's that sound?
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 12:38 PM   #15
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Sounds like a decent plan. One other thing you might try for the mandarin is hatching decapsulated live brine. If the water flow is low enough it should be able to catch the nauplii pretty easily.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2005, 12:21 PM   #16
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
That's an interesting idea. Without a ph in the Eclipse 12 the water flow is pretty low. Is there enough nutrition in the live brine to sustain a mandarin for 6 weeks?
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2005, 12:26 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
If he is by himself, maybe this would be a good time to try and get him to eat prepared foods. Would make your life a lot easier.
IMO brine is not the best, but you need to do whatever works. Perhaps mix a little frozen Mysis with it and see if he takes to it.
Good luck!!
__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2005, 07:58 PM   #18
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmor1701d
Is there enough nutrition in the live brine to sustain a mandarin for 6 weeks?
Newly hatched live brine is actually pretty good. It's the adult version that's pretty much useless. You can up the nutritional value by feeding them phyto before they go into the mandarine tank.

Rayjay's got a great breakdown on how to do it. You should be able to greatly "scale down" the operation.... you'll get the idea though
http://www.angelfire.com/ab/rayjay/brineshrimp.html

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2005, 09:09 PM   #19
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Thank you. I will try a greatly "scaled down' version of that system.
__________________

cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bio, ich, outbreak

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How much bio-load? Becks Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 11-17-2006 11:51 AM
Bio Load StrongBad Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 09-07-2005 01:46 PM
How is this for bio-load? swanandmokashi Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-14-2005 01:39 PM
bio load? border324 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 01-24-2004 11:49 AM
Bio Load pm64971 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 09-16-2003 01:38 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.