Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-09-2015, 01:12 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

HELP noob questions

Ok so a while back I started with a small 10gal glofish tank from petsmart didn't tank long to get an addiction. About 2 Months later a friend of mine was getting rid of a 40gal tank so I was able to get my hands on it and now have had it up and running for about 4 months with no issues. But it's a fresh water of course. And just yesterday I had a friend getting rid of a 100gal bow front tank. So I now have it with nothing in it at the moment. Another buddy of mine who is very knowledgeable about tanks said a saltwater tank is not only expensive as heck and high maintenance but also not someone that's a complete novice. Said it's best to do a 40gal type tank over a 100gal.

So in all this what can yall tell me is it really expensive and high maintenence to do so is it something a novice can do? Of course after seeing some of these builds with live coral I'm just in amazement of beauty but I don't Wana get myself into something I can't do

Sent from my SM-G900V using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Old 05-09-2015, 01:58 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

HELP noon questions

Well i think it really comes down to what type of setup you really want. If you want to do a reef then it's gonna be a pretty penny, the most expensive items are lighting, an rodi unit( it's a literal super filtration system, highly need it for a reef or any saltwater IMHO) and a skimmer. Rember you get what you pay for in this hobby. But you can also save money by waiting on deals.
Anyway i think if your really devoted to doing everything needed to run a saltwater aquarium then even a novice can do it.

Alright first thing first: what type of system do I want