Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-06-2003, 11:01 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Beacon, New York
Posts: 1,386
ok, i got it running in my bathroom. But I noticed a small hole on the housing cover. I'm heading out ti WalMart to get a powerhead any, so I am gonna get a small tube of cilicone to plug up that hole. I'll see if i can get it running, and replace it tomorrow.
__________________

__________________
Bill The Cat For President!
stresco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2003, 11:16 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishfreek
Yes rios have a bad rep for doing exactly this.
My Mag7 struggles to "re-start" it'll grunt and shake a bit .... sometimes
for as long as 4 minutes before it'll fire back up. But it's never failed
totaly (it's my second one...the first one did the same thing)
__________________

__________________
Mudshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2003, 11:17 PM   #13
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
This happens with a Mag?? I've never had that happen with a mag drive pump.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2003, 12:09 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,227
that hole might be there by design ... some sort of drain or air escape?

I know the motor housing on both my maxijet's fill with water during their operation ... air bubbles out the same hole the cord goes in, but I think the "motor" itself is sealed in epoxy, so it's immune to the water circulating around it
__________________
justDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2003, 01:29 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Beacon, New York
Posts: 1,386
No, this hole looked like damage (Innocent smile ). I bought 2 170gal Aquateq power heads from WalMart. On of them is not working right so i will take it back tomorrow. The other is installed in the corner of the tank. As fot the Rio, i couldnt find any epoxy or silicone that would set in under 24 hours so i used a plasic knife and melted it down into the hole to seal it. I put it back into the sump and had to bang it a few times to get it started, but its running for now. I looking into a Magdrive pump, by then end of the week at the latest.
__________________
Bill The Cat For President!
stresco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2003, 02:03 AM   #16
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
I've had a few Magdrives that didn't want to start (old ones). They usually needed new bushings on the ends of the impeller shaft. I've had one Mag 5 that the magnet came loose from the shaft. Here's the parts line for Magdrives.
E G Danner Parts
160 Oval Drive
Islandia, NY 11749
(631) 234-5261
FAX (631) 234-4778
www.dannermfg.com
I've had very good service from Magdrives and would recommend them to anyone.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2003, 03:25 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Beacon, New York
Posts: 1,386
Thanks for the link Loganj. I am picking up a Mag7 pump tomorrow from WWW.reefsplendor.com so I will definately bookmark that page for future reference.
__________________

__________________
Bill The Cat For President!
stresco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
pump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Light Stopped working jibboo General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 15 06-24-2009 11:57 AM
New water pump not working? summit Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 03-22-2009 01:31 PM
Help! Filter stopped working (Eclipse 5g) wingspantt General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 01-03-2008 09:45 PM
Eclipse 3 stopped working swanandmokashi Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 11-11-2004 10:48 AM
HELP! Filter stopped working! techiegirl General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 08-13-2004 03:38 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.