Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Closed Thread

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 10-06-2012, 02:07 PM   #1

Hi everyone im new to AA lately I've been thinking of getting into the saltwater aquarium world and I was thinking of a 100 gallon tank with corals live sand live rock and a diy sump. Also I was thinking of getting a coralife skimmer rated for 125 gallons( do you guys think this is good enough?).
Lastly I was going to get coralife 48 in lights( 10000k do u guys think this is right for coral?) and I was going to get other stuff but I need a list of really what I would need and how much of it. Thanks I advance for any device

And my budget for the rest of the things is $300-$500 without the list on top but I really want it closer to $300 or $400

Can anyone help me at all

Please

Old 10-06-2012, 02:31 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic

I've heard bad things about coralife skimmers and the light is a t5?
Depending on the number of bulbs you won't be able to keep much unless you have more than maybe 4.
I'm actually building a 100 reef myself and you most likely Wont be able to stay in that budget.

Old 10-06-2012, 02:39 PM   #3

Yes coralife t5 for like $144 at petco

Also what skimmer would you say because my budget for it is $200
And lots of people said coralife skimmers are like the 3rd best, that's what I was tolled and read on a bunch of forums
Old 10-06-2012, 02:40 PM   #4

Sorry for double post my app isn't working good today
Old 10-06-2012, 02:41 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishfreak1
Yes t5 for like $144 at petco

Also what skimmer would you say because I can't go over $200 for skimmer