Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-31-2009, 11:03 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Help with algae overgrowth

Hello,
We have recently replaced our 75 gallon saltwater fishtank with a 210 gallon unit. We have:
150 lbs live rock
A variety of reef safe fish
Live sand bottom
Drilled unit with three jet pumps and main pump
Protein skimmer
An outer orbit hqi/t5ho lighting system.

We have a buddy that helps us with tank upkeep but we have run into a wall keeping algae under control. It is growing everywhere. We are considering a control unit for our light source and a reverse osmosis system. We have not checked the water for phosphate levels. I am a novice with reef tanks and any input would be appreciated in how to get this algae under control.
Thanks.

Old 08-31-2009, 11:34 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

With your comments, it sounds like you know what you need to do... limit nutrients. If you're using tap water, a RO/DI system would be my first move. You mention a control unit for your lighting... are they not on a timer now? How long are you running them?

Is your skimmer pulling any gunk out of the water? If you aren't already, running some GFO (granulated ferric oxide) will help reduce/eliminate your phosphates and silicates if you have any in the tank.

How often are you doing water changes? And how much are you changing?

And yes... phosphate levels, as well as all other water parameters (nitrates, pH, etc) will need to be known to tell you what you need to attack.

Welcome to AA, by the way!

Old 08-31-2009, 11:58 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Kurt,