Help with my 1st Saltwater Setup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

matai

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey all, i'm new to firstwater and i'd like some help with my first setup. I want it to be a 29/30 gallon. I'd rather not mess with live rock unless you guys think i definately need to. I was thinking about running a Seaclear 30 Gallon, fluval 405, Marineland Visi-Therm 250watt. Would I need a protein skimmer? if so which one?

Also, would the 30 gallon eclipse hood work well for saltwater?

Any help would be great.

Thanks!

Do you plan on a reef tank, fish only...

Since this post is in the reef forum I will assume you are setting up a reef tank. If so then you should get Live Rock and a skimmer. Though I have no experience with it, a lot of people recommend the AquaC Remora skimmer for a tank of that size. As far as the heater is concerned, you may want to use 2 heaters in case one goes bad. Also I don't believe you need a 250w heater for your size tank (it depends on the difference between you room temperature, the temp you want in your tank and the size of your tank), but I'll let others chime in on the size. Maybe 2 150w or 2 200w heaters.

In the articles section of this site you may find information that may help. It is located here
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/article_cat.php?fldAuto=2/

100% definetly need live rock. 1.5-2lb per gallon. There really isnt much to mess with as far as live rock goes either, pretty much just buy it and put it in the tank (remember to let the tank cycle the live rock 1st before adding anything else live)

99% need a protien skimmer. i dont think any of the regulars here would even consider running a reef tank without one.