Help with my biocube cycle!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TampaBC

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello all. I'm new to the saltwater game and decided to start my first Biocube 29. I will not bore you guys with the long story so I'll break down what I have and what issues I'm having. I have the 29 gallon biocube, stock lights, removed the bioballs and have the intank Media basket with filter floss in top rack, purigen in middle rack and chem elite in bottom rack and also have removed the sponge between chamber 2 and 3. I've changed the pump to the MJ1200 and put in the Hydor 600 power head.
I started this tank about 5 days ago so I know its very new. I put in 25 lbs of live rock and about 22 lbs of live sand (covers about 1 inch of the bottom). My friend brought over 30 gallons of water from his tank. I understand that the water will usually not play a roll on the cycle time. The first day after the tank was set up, the ammonia was 0 and so was the nitrate. Now the ammonia is .50 or so and the nitrate is now up to 40. From what Ive read, this is a good thing. Btw, this is a fishless cycle.
Today I got home from work and it looks like there is some brown algae staring to form and some of it looks slimy and some of it looks hairy. I have not done a water change and the salinity seems to stay around 1.024.

My question is, should I leave it and just get some clean up crew or should I do a small water change? I've been nerding out over this saltwater stuff for weeks now, lol, but now I'm a little lost and need some help. Please let me know what you think...

Attachments

• Algea tank.JPG
    Algea tank.JPG
    146.8 KB · Views: 124
It's diatom Algee it will get worse before it gets better. It's normal for a new tank.