Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-05-2014, 06:16 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
Your pump is not oversized. That overflow is set for 800gph. You need to be hitting 750gph after headloss.

Check the utube. Is air trapped at the top?
__________________

__________________
Dav3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2014, 06:21 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
andy281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: NEW YORK
Posts: 36
Nope no air at all when I start the siphon I make sure I always get all the bubbles out with the airline tubing


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
andy281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2014, 08:22 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
What about after running the return for a few minutes? Does air build up in the tube.
__________________
Dav3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2014, 08:39 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
andy281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: NEW YORK
Posts: 36
No I have no problems with air In the tube. And it keeps the siphon during power outages.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
andy281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 05:58 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
lstimpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 197
I had the same issue, fixed with a second u tube....


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
lstimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 06:58 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
andy281's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: NEW YORK
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by lstimpy View Post
I had the same issue, fixed with a second u tube....


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice

Awesome! That's what I was thinking about doing


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
andy281 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2014, 10:17 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
lstimpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 197
I hope that works! My sump was going dry until I added a second tube. 😊


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
lstimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow, overflow box

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
overflow box... help! mike3epanda General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 07-29-2007 02:28 PM
HOB overflow Box Vs. Internal overflow box FishFrik Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 09-10-2006 12:36 AM
please help my external overflow box to get flowing pelochas General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 09-20-2005 12:54 PM
Whats the difference between out box and sent box? Melody Forum Admin & Announcements 2 05-31-2005 12:53 PM
Please help me with my overflow box itzafugasi Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 08-22-2004 05:57 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.