help with saltwater tank levels!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kaykay

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
ok im a total beginner, set my tank up a week ago...my levels at the moment are... nitrite p.p.m 0.05, PH 8.0, alkalinity high 2.9-3.6

i dont know if these are good or bad and what to do if they are bad???

thanks

I am assuming that your tank at the start of the cycling process and that you have no live fish in the tank?

Normally you would look at the tanks ammonia and nitrites; you may find that in 2-3 weeks time that the ammonia and the nitrite levels go up and then start to come down. While this is happening you will notice that the nitrate level increases. Sorry if you know this.

Give us an update with the levels and we can help some more

Yeah, agree with spikey. Could you also give us some more basic info about the tank? It does need to go through a cycle so keep that in mind and check the params everyday!

Keep us posted!

ok the tank is 190 litres, i have put all the salt in and for 4 days the salt levels have been stable at 1.021. the temprature is about 27degrees. iv put in a live rock 2 days ago, which unfortunately had a crab in it, but the crab is still alive so that must be a good sign for my tank!

the only test kit i didnt get with the tank was ammonia so im gona have to go back to the shop and buy that one. the tank has been filled with water for 5 days...

you should really get that ammonia test ASAP. I would maybe try to raise the SG (specific gravity) to ~1.023 also. the temp is OK, just make sure that it doesnt get too much higher than that. How much LR did you pput in BTW?

not much live rock, its about 30cm long and 15cm high, added some plants too..again not much just enough to plant into the LR.

also when shud i put the skimmer on?