Help with starting a 20 gallon nano reef tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

apollo6626

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello everyone,
I have did freshwater for many years and currently have a 75gal with cichlids in it but I have always wanted to start a saltwater tank but never had the funds of time. Now I have access to all and the funding to do a nano tank but I am new to the entire idea and I need as much info as possible. I'm planing to do minimal fish as of right now, but more importantly, how can I keep mushrooms and other soft corals in this tank? I am aware of live rock, clean up crew, and everything life that but I am naïve as to anything reef related. Any input is appreciated on the reef or advice for the tank, thanks!

Lights, stability and regular maintenance are key! I agree light on the fish and heavy on the coral is in my opinion easier to keep and beautiful to watch!
Mushrooms require light to moderate light, powerhead to create flow not only helps with algae it also makes the softy corals look great to!

Lights, stability and regular maintenance are key! I agree light on the fish and heavy on the coral is in my opinion easier to keep and beautiful to watch!
Mushrooms require light to moderate light, powerhead to create flow not only helps with algae it also makes the softy corals look great to!

+1 but I got heavy on the fish and extremely heavy on the coral haha. :). Softies are great and can actually make for a pretty reef tank. Look into the current USA orbit lighting. It is nice and great for softies and some lps. You will probably need stronger though if you want sps/clams.

I don't er amend the orbit! Why limit yourself to softies and Lps? Eventually you will want to try a sps and the orbit just won't due! I had one and did not like its lack if intensity