Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-13-2013, 07:43 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Elykreefs97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 593
Help with the aquascape

Have been trying to get a good aquascapeing for a while can you give me some help oil post a pic of each rock there's 8 pieces. Tell me if its good or bad idk maybe when there's corals in there.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1349372844.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	147.7 KB
ID:	144029   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-823172000.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	166.6 KB
ID:	144030  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2496682791.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	184.9 KB
ID:	144031   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2268145335.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	111.2 KB
ID:	144032  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4123893696.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	144.4 KB
ID:	144033   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3743137993.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	144.4 KB
ID:	144034  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-222296283.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	138.5 KB
ID:	144035   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3601975286.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	149.4 KB
ID:	144036  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1424795106.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	147.7 KB
ID:	144037  
__________________

__________________
Elykreefs97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 07:51 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
CorallineAlgae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 3,115
It's obvious you put a lot of work into setting it up already. It looks good but you could use more rock for such a tall tank. I know it's expensive but saving up for another 20 pounds of live rock would make the tank look a bit more like a reef. Most of the rock you have is very high quality. Wherever you got it from sells great stuff. Must've cost a pretty penny. *ouch* lol
__________________

__________________
CorallineAlgae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 07:54 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Elykreefs97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 593
Yea I'm going to get another 10-20 lbs depending on the price. Yea that rock was like 9 bucks a pound but it came with all kinds of stuff I gots some palys on it and a lot of small brittle stars.
__________________
Elykreefs97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 10:44 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
CorallineAlgae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 3,115
It's getting rare to see high quality rock in a new tank these days. Nine bucks a pound is pricy but you definitely got your money's worth! You could easily get away with using some dry rock at the bottom and just put the good stuff on top.

A few small hermit crabs would be fine to add while the tank cycles or you could turn the lights out for about 5 days to help clear out that algae (perfectly normal to have by the way). What size is this tank? Also, what lights are you running?
__________________
CorallineAlgae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 03:48 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Elykreefs97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 593
I have a turbo snail 4 blue leged hermits an anemone crab and a coral banded shrimp. I also had a tank befor this one. This one it just an upgrade from 10 to 29 gals I also have my corals in there too. But yea i got the dry stuff from another place.
__________________
Elykreefs97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 05:39 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
CorallineAlgae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 3,115
Always fun to upgrade! Are you having a mini cycle from the tank change? It probably won't be much if your using everything from the other tank. What light are you using?
__________________
CorallineAlgae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 07:43 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Elykreefs97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 593
Yea it's just a lot of blooms of algea and cyano. It died down in the past week though. I have the zoomed aquasun t5 high output. But I'm getting the corallife light with the 4 bulbs and the moon LEDs.
__________________

__________________
Elykreefs97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquascape, cap

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.