Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-06-2011, 10:29 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
1volt in electronic systems is different then stray voltage doing nothing in water.

in a way a grounding probe would be worse then leavign ti without, you're actually gettign a current flow through the water with one and i don't think most people realise its not the voltage that kills people its the amperage.

a GFI doesn't sense a leak in voltage it senses a leak in current. in electrical flow whatever leaves the source goes back to the source, voltage gets used up at the load but the current returns back so a GFI monitors the black wire which is your line, and your neutral which is your return
__________________

__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 09:48 AM   #32
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alberta canada
Posts: 2,360
Send a message via Skype™ to kdpuffer
Long story short, don't worry about it. As for a grounding electrode, bad idea that will just make the aquarium and all it's occupants part of the circuit if there is an issue and that is bad, unless you want fish for supper lol. Even if your getting 120 volts in the tank it won't hurt anything as it's not completed circuit.
__________________

__________________
kdpuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 09:53 AM   #33
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
leftyfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 824
Thanks everyone, so simply...

Grounding pole actually completes a circuit in the tank. Don't need to do that. Voltage is just a measure of the potential amount of electricity that could flow if a circuit was completed, but in itself, voltage is not doing anything to the inhabitants.

Right, or close to it?
__________________
leftyfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 10:36 AM   #34
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
ezy33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco's Barbary Coast
Posts: 2,545
Send a message via ICQ to ezy33
They do sell grounding probes for use in aquariums. I use them.

"Pumps, powerheads, chillers, and other aquarium electrical devices may emit stray voltage resulting in fish health problems like lateral line disease, fin erosion, and gill deterioration."
__________________
Not one shred of evidence supports the notion that life is serious.
ezy33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 10:45 AM   #35
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alberta canada
Posts: 2,360
Send a message via Skype™ to kdpuffer
DO NOT USE A GROUNDING ELECTRODE. if you have 1 volt of induced voltage it will drain it, if you have an electrical device fail (heater or powerhead) that is causing 120 volts to go into the water the grounding electrode will kill your fish. You can touch a live wire without consequence provided you are NOT grounded. Even having 120 volts in the tank would be fine if it has no path to ground.
__________________
kdpuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 10:48 AM   #36
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alberta canada
Posts: 2,360
Send a message via Skype™ to kdpuffer
Furthermore, if you have a GFCI plug running your equipment it will trip the second there is a problem with an electrical device so you will be fine without the ground rod. Better to cut power to the tank than make a circuit of it.
__________________
kdpuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 11:16 AM   #37
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jereli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 431
a lot of controversial opinions on this topic. I dont entirely agree.. why have voltage in your tank even though its not doing harm? one day you can accidently complete the circuit with your body. Accidents do happen.But you will not kill your fish with a ground probe thats what your gfi is for to trip.
__________________
Jereli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 12:16 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alberta canada
Posts: 2,360
Send a message via Skype™ to kdpuffer
A gfci takes a fraction of a second to trip. In that fraction of a second you have voltage being leaked into the tank, which when a ground probe is installed is called a completed circuit, that means dead fish. Installing a ground probe is a personal choice. I personally don't see any benefit at all, 1 volt is not an issue. Look at it like this. Let's use a garden hose an example. Water in the hose is voltage and the nozzle is the ground probe. When closed you have no water coming out but you open that nozzle and let the path continue. Not a bad thing necessarily, if your watering plants but would you open your hose in your living room? Another one is take a 9volt battery, stick your tongue to only one prong on it, that's an open circuit with potential. Now cover both prongs with your tongue, how does that feel? That's a completed circuit. 1 volt is not an issue as it can be instrument error. If it's a concern to you then feel free to address the issue but I will not ever be putting a ground probe in my tank. As far as why they sell them, my guess is because people buy them. Scream safety and offer a solution and the consumers line up to buy.
__________________
kdpuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 12:44 PM   #39
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jereli's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 431
agree 1v is not an issue... Just my opinion tho when I have a piece of equipment fail i personally would like to know right away so I can address the issue rather then just leave it in my tank. sorry but I dont agree on your statement of dead fish.. My fish did not die when my heater cracked and my gfi tripped. But yea it is personal preference I guess. again just my 2 cents.
__________________
Jereli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2011, 01:05 PM   #40
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alberta canada
Posts: 2,360
Send a message via Skype™ to kdpuffer
Yes a gfci is a must and everyone should have one. I would recommend that over a ground electrode any day.
__________________

__________________
kdpuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
stray voltage help Bige Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 04-28-2011 01:45 AM
Voltage Fireworks Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 04-30-2005 09:40 PM
Hannah TDS meter and pH meter saltwatersmac Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 01-17-2005 10:49 AM
Voltage In Water? BeachMan Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 02-27-2004 05:46 PM
Stray Voltage Bang Guy Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 09-17-2002 11:09 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.