Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-29-2012, 01:40 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
At .25 it could... On a fully cycled tank.. And sorry bout the rodi comment, got mixed up with sw
__________________

__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 01:54 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
shuvit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: nottinghamshire england
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbstrong

The presence of nitrate shows you have a cycle
I thought you would always have nitrAte in a cycled tank?
My tank has .25 ammonia, 0 nitrIte and 10 nitrAte and have been told several times that it means my tank is cycled and there's not much I can do about the ammonia as its in the tap water.
__________________

__________________
shuvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 03:37 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
If the ammonia is in your tap water, then you need to either run distilled, or atleast purified water. Also a fully cycled tank should e able to handle the small amount of ammonia without a problem, the fact that your ammonia keeps spiking tells me that your BB isnt fully up to 100%. Please dont ever think that just "because its there" means its ok or you cant fix it.
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 03:42 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
huma-huma's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: washington Pa
Posts: 5,257
Also in a fully cycled tank, it handles ammonia loads rater quickly, so unless you add too many fish at once, or do something else drastic, te ammonia gets converted rather quickly
__________________
my 125g Sw...Round 2!http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...220171-33.html
ever see someone cut a 125g in half??
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...-286438-4.html
huma-huma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 03:59 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
murrayk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by huma-huma
Also in a fully cycled tank, it handles ammonia loads rater quickly, so unless you add too many fish at once, or do something else drastic, te ammonia gets converted rather quickly
Cool, thanks. I hope all is good now. Im gonna do wc next week and go from there
__________________
murrayk123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 05:00 PM   #36
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
shuvit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: nottinghamshire england
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by huma-huma
If the ammonia is in your tap water, then you need to either run distilled, or atleast purified water. Also a fully cycled tank should e able to handle the small amount of ammonia without a problem, the fact that your ammonia keeps spiking tells me that your BB isnt fully up to 100%. Please dont ever think that just "because its there" means its ok or you cant fix it.
Ahhh ok, thanks.
__________________
shuvit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 08:32 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ingy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Comox, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,837
I find the API kit never really shows 0 amm. There is always a hint of green in the colour. My LFS has confirmed 0 amm but my kit shows between 0 and .25. Have yours checked.
__________________
Ingy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 08:44 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 1,102
Okay first off dont add the shrimp! You already have fish and inverts in tank good chance your inverts will die and your fish will have an even shorter life span.. i would keep doing what ur doing till ammonia and nitrites equal 0.. your bb will eventually catch up. Your first mistake was adding the cuc and fish before being cycled ..its happens i did it years ago.. its now going to be a slow moving cycle for you.. best bet is just continue ur routine with pwc till you only have nitrate readings.
__________________

__________________
jsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.