Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-10-2012, 04:24 PM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
20ppm and below is acceptable for nitrates. Also, if your test kit never says anything different from the time you mix it to after you add it to the main, and thru multiple water changes, I'm really thinking your test kit is no good.
__________________

__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 07:38 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: crewe cheshire uk
Posts: 412
no i mix the new water in a tub and test it everything reads 0 i test my tank it reads about 40 on nitrate. so i do the water change leave it a while and test again and it is still the same so i know its not the test as the fresh water reads0
__________________

__________________
craig_will2513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 08:37 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Jlsardina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,581
Send a message via AIM to Jlsardina
Quote:
Originally Posted by craig_will2513
no i mix the new water in a tub and test it everything reads 0 i test my tank it reads about 40 on nitrate. so i do the water change leave it a while and test again and it is still the same so i know its not the test as the fresh water reads0
This doesn't make sense. How big of a water change are you doing? If you do a 50% water change in your tank- your nitrates should be cut in half. I can only think of three things that could be going wrong. You are not shaking the test long enough (one minute before dropping and 30sec to one minute after test for API products), you are waiting too long to read your test results (max five minutes for API test), or you are letting your saltwater sit too long before doing your water change (still saltwater in a bucket can cause nitrates to spike- don't know how but it happens).
Also, how long are you waiting before you retest??? A day? If so, do you rinse your frozen food off in RO/DI water? The excess can cause nitrates.
__________________
Jlsardina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 09:43 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: crewe cheshire uk
Posts: 412
i follow the test as it states on instructions.. before i retest i normally wait a few hours and my frozen food i take water from tank and add the cubes wait till its defrosted then add it back to the tank.. i mix the water for around 3-5 hours then change it. i was told by red sea that thats ok for the salt i use.
__________________
craig_will2513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 09:51 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Jlsardina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,581
Send a message via AIM to Jlsardina
Quote:
Originally Posted by craig_will2513
i follow the test as it states on instructions.. before i retest i normally wait a few hours and my frozen food i take water from tank and add the cubes wait till its defrosted then add it back to the tank.. i mix the water for around 3-5 hours then change it. i was told by red sea that thats ok for the salt i use.
Try to strain the shrimp from the water. All the juices from the cubes can cause issues as well. I use a cup of RO let it thaw, then strain.
__________________
Jlsardina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 04:43 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Pschmitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Granada Hills, Ca
Posts: 250
I just defrost in tap water in a shot glass then dump in net and pour some more water over it, drain and then straight into my DT. I do run a PO4 reactor, so I'm not really worried about a couple of ounces of tap water.
__________________

__________________
Pschmitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
high nitrate, nitrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
high nitrate craig_will2513 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 43 10-16-2011 09:46 AM
High Nitrate - White spot treatment AnT2nY Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 23 10-15-2011 10:06 AM
Tank is cycled but NitrAte are high (after PWCs)! lapintoxic Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 11 09-26-2011 06:41 AM
ammonia, no nitrite, and high nitrate?? MissKush Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 08-27-2011 10:38 AM
Nitrate high at source! Help! magoofc Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 08-10-2011 12:12 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.