Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-14-2005, 11:03 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 72
Send a message via AIM to Snoopybdb
high nitrate levels..help?

On thursday i added some live rock and did a 30% water change. On saturday i added a few more pieces of liverock. Yesterday i tested te water and the the ph, nitrite, and ammonia levels were fine, but the nitrate was very high, so i changed 6 gal of water again. What should i do? Is there anything else i can do to reduce the nitrate levels other than water changes? I don't want to loose the new corals i just put in. Any ideas on what could be making the nitrate levels so high when all the others are ok? Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Snoopybdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2005, 11:09 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
We need more info about your tank..
Size, what type of substraight.... Sump or wet dry, use of bioballs? How long has it been up
Canister filter do you change/clean
what type of water do you use
Was the lr u added cured?
What were your amm and nitrite levels and what is you nitrate readings.
__________________

__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2005, 11:15 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 72
Send a message via AIM to Snoopybdb
30 gal. crushed coral. wet dry. no bioballs. the tank will be 2yrs in aug. the water i use for changes is bottled spring water, bought from the store(is there somthing better to use?). yes cured lr. amm was between 0 and .25 ppm. nitrite was 0 and nitrate was 40 ppm. my boyfriend thinks that rinseing the testing viles in tap water might be giving me an inaccurate reading, but the the almost 2 years that i've been testing the tank my levels have stayed at or near 0 since the original cycle. i have never seen any levels this high, since the original cycle.
__________________
Snoopybdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 02:23 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 562
Actually adding the lr will decrease your no3 in time. I would opt for a few more water changes untill the lr has time to catch up and not sweat it to much untill then. If and when a week or so passes and then you still have high no3 I would lean toward the cc bed. Could be that you adding the lr disrupted it enough to let the built up no3 escape into the water but should still clear up in time either way. IMO
__________________
150 rr Oceanic, 300 pound lr,250 pounds ls, lps's, polyp's,soft corals, sps's,
Thumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 07:51 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
First, have the tests verified by another kit or the LFS. The two main causes of high NO3 are over-feeding an over-stocking. What is your current livestock list? What and how often are you feeding?
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 08:41 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
CC can trap waste and break down into NO3, do you vac the CC bed?
Have you tested the spring water..... IMO and from reading Spring water can be worse then using tap water.
RO/DI is the best we can get, they sell them on ebay for $100 and there are a lot of sites that sell them also. rinsing the vials is fine they will dry before you use them again...
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2005, 09:06 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 72
Send a message via AIM to Snoopybdb
up until the day i tested the water i had a yellow tang, a clown fish, and a black and white stripped damsel, also a feather duster, a cleaner shrimp and some turbo snails, that day i took the damsel out and added a purple and yellow dottyback and since have added a firefish, and a couple of corals. i am concidering taking the dottyback out since it's picking on other things( lfs guys sold it to me and then today asked me how my cleaner shrimp was doing and when i told him the dotty back was picking on it he laughed HOW MEAN!)
Now that i read some of the posts you have left me i had to move all the lr to catch the damsel, so it might be that i stirred up the tank alot and that's what gave me the high reading. i'll try the test again tomorrow since it's been a week now and see if it's any better. Thanks!
__________________
Snoopybdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2005, 08:20 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
You may want to consider taking back the yellow tang as well. A 30gal tank is way too tight for even the smallest of tangs. It can really lead to problems.
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 02:39 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Barboursville WV
Posts: 317
Send a message via AIM to AR15 guy
I kept a tang in a 38 gallon with two percs and a royal gramma. The tank seemed very territorial and killed my gramma. Didn't attack it directly but picked at it and had it very stressed out. It eventually died. It never bothered the percs though.
__________________

__________________
38 gal SW, CC, 40lbs base rock, 5lbs live, emporer 280, bio-wheel 330,tronic heater, 2 O. clowns, 1 firefish.

29 gal FW, boring...soon to be salt I think.

10 gal SW, 20lbs LS, 20lbs base rock, 1 unhappy domino damsel (he was in the 38...switched the percs and the damesel recently).
AR15 guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
high nitrate, high nitrate levels, level, nitrate, nitrate level

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please Help with high Nitrate levels! whiddett Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 05-21-2008 10:30 PM
High nitrate levels kitbasher Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 06-01-2006 09:22 AM
Nitrate Levels High DavidK Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 05-31-2006 02:05 AM
High Nitrate levels, help? curiousgeorge Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 02-11-2005 08:17 AM
Controlling high nitrate levels TheManichaean Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 02-08-2005 01:16 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.