Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-02-2009, 08:52 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
yellowfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 8
Water is good,Ive tested it in the past,what puzzles me is i have a 180gl predetor FOWLR tank across from from the 135gl tank i am using the same salt,same ro/di water,same everything and this tank has a higher load(triggers,10 in total averaging 6.5'')and its Parameters are 100%.What i am starting to believe that it may be is, the high amount of tangs i have in this tank......
__________________

__________________
yellowfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 11:57 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Slippery Rock, PA
Posts: 102
aaaaaaaaah....maybe I'm just being dumb but wouldn't a simple solution be to use a de-nitrate product?

Seachem. denitrate
__________________

__________________
RWaltman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 03:01 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
yellowfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 8
Hey Why didn't i think of that!!!!!!!
Read my thread,i tried that........
Don't mean to sound nasty,
I do appreciate the feedbacks and i am willing to try anything to keep my existing fish.
__________________
yellowfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 03:34 PM   #14
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
What kind of flow do you have in the tank?

Do you have any sponges or other filter media anywhere on the system? Check in your sump for collected detritus. When I was battling high nitrates if turned out that I had a dead spot in my sump and was loaded with detritus. After correcting that issue my nitrates run around 10ish.

BTW to get the full benefit of dosing vodka you have to do it for a while. It doesn't happen overnight. I'm not a fan of adding sugar to the tank though it has proven benefits. As you found though it can mess with other parameters.

Do you have a TDS meter on your RO/DI unit? Have you tested your source water before the RO/DI and then tested the pure water to see if there are nitrates there?
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 04:40 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Slippery Rock, PA
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowfish View Post
Hey Why didn't i think of that!!!!!!!
Read my thread,i tried that........
Don't mean to sound nasty,
I do appreciate the feedbacks and i am willing to try anything to keep my existing fish.

hehehe...sorry!
__________________
RWaltman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2009, 05:55 PM   #16
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
If you're going to use a denitrator then you need to do it right and not use the voo-doo products over the counter. A good denitrator will use sulfur and slowly reprocess the water through the packed sulfer several times until the anerobic bacteria can process the nitrate. When done properly you will see nitrate in and 0 nitrates out.

However, in the end you have nitrates for only a few reasons. 1) You are introducing them via food or your water supply. 2) Your cleaning habits (be that manual cleaning, cleaning thru macro algae (or lack there of) or your clean up crew are not doing their job 3) You have dead spots which relates back to #2.

http://reefcentral.com/forums/showth...5&pagenumber=1
__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 07:01 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
The only other thing I can see is that you have to many tangs. They are Algae eaters and therefore deficate alot. Try feeding every other day and see if that and PWC's can bring your NO3 down to at least 20ppm.
__________________
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 11:05 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 231
Controlling Nitrate

Greetings,

I did have problems of controlling nitrates until I started to use the sump/ref with caulepra and live sand. I did not employ this until my 4th tank (55 G, 80G, 120G and now 125G) and what a difference it makes. With LR, light fish load, controlled feeding, PWC (I do 20 G every two weeks) and sump/ref you should be able to get to 5. Of course a skimmer is a must too. DP
__________________

__________________
Dr. Dai Phan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
high nitrate, nitrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble reading Nitrate tester CaysE General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 08-15-2006 02:21 PM
New Help my Nitrate is high amskater Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 23 04-21-2006 04:39 PM
Salinity reading too high b.askew Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 09-21-2005 04:53 PM
High SG reading gatr_head Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 5 03-20-2005 01:38 PM
How to deal with high TDS reading/ Boxster Saltwater Reef Aquaria 24 03-16-2004 11:12 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.