Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-07-2007, 07:03 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
Quote:
About how much should do I with this 180 gal with the 30 gal sump to get it corrected as soon as possible?
I would say a couple/few PWC's between 25-50% would work. Be sure to match the parameters of the new water and the tank water to avoid shocking the animals.
Quote:
Then after I get it under control how much weekly or biweekly?
Personally I do 10% weekly. I'd say 10-20% every other week would be fine since your bio-load is fairly low. HTH
__________________

__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 09:48 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks all. Will update my equipment later this weekend and figure out how to do that.
__________________

__________________
Dave.
rndswatloski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2007, 01:01 PM   #13
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Just go to the home page and click on "update your profile".
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 12:24 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: new smyrna beach, fl
Posts: 47
I've been reading up on the nitrates in tap water and have a question on R/O filters. I've tested my tap water and it's 10ppm (back in Nov they were 0 ppm). So, now I'm looking at getting an R/O, but don't know what kind. My space is limited so I can't have anything hard plumbed. Do I need a bare bones, 3 or 4 stage? What kind of membrane? All other chemicals check out ok, phospates 0, ammonia 0.
__________________
jwburleson97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 05:39 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
I would recommend a 3 or 4 stage RO w/ a DI unit as well. The DI will remove whats left after the water passes through the RO membrane. That will get the TDS level of the product water down to 0. TFC and Hi-S membranes work well. A few members of this site have bought their RO/DI units off e-bay and have been satisfied and got pretty good prices. I use, and really like buckeyefieldsupply.com for my RO/DI needs. You can buy hose/faucet adapters for RO units so you don't have to hard plumb it. HTH
__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 05:43 PM   #16
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I bought the 5 stage RO/DI System , it really doesn't take up too much space, except for the storage tank. I could have sworn someone posted that link a week ago and it was cheaper....
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2007, 10:35 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: new smyrna beach, fl
Posts: 47
In some of the research I've done I've seen where you can get these at Home Depot..any thoughts on that?
Also, I've read that I need a deep sand bed (at least 3 inches) to help eliminate nitrates...is that accurate? When I went to the LFS to buy that much aragonite for a 55 gal they looked at me like I was nuts. He showed me all of his reef tanks (which are gorgeous!) and none of them had DSB. He sold me 40# of aragonite, which is a just about 1 inch..is that going to be ok or should I add more?
__________________
jwburleson97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2007, 12:53 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Just updated my profile. Let me know if you have questions or think I should add additional information.
__________________

__________________
Dave.
rndswatloski is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
high nitrate, high nitrates, nitrates

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NitrAtes high :( CluelessInNY Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 08-18-2008 06:41 PM
cycling my tank, how high is too high for nitrates? boojumsnark25 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 01-26-2007 10:02 AM
high nitrates adacaro Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 08-24-2006 10:32 AM
High Nitrates...need help!!! kalani Saltwater Reef Aquaria 11 06-24-2004 01:13 AM
High Nitrates And the Best way to lower Nitrates Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 11-29-2003 07:40 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.