Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-22-2012, 07:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 38
High nitrite,nitrate

I'm 2 weeks into cycling and have the following readings:

Ammonia 0ppm
nitrite 5ppm+
nitrate 80ppm

On 3/19 the readings where:

Ammonia 4ppm+
nitrite 4ppm
nitrate 80ppm

Just wanted to know if I'm on track and should I dose some ammonia or just let let it be. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
need4fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 01:16 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Terrance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,577
Are you using the API test kit? With those kits, its difficult to determine the real nitrAte reading. Ammonia went from 4 to 0ppm over the last few days.

You a few drops of ammonia everyday. Just wait another 2-3 weeks for all the ammonia and nitrIte to fall to zero.
__________________

__________________
Kind Regards,
Terrance
Terrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 01:27 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andy Sager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lake Wales, Florida
Posts: 5,959
Sounds like....

Quote:
Originally Posted by need4fish View Post
I'm 2 weeks into cycling and have the following readings:

Ammonia 0ppm
nitrite 5ppm+
nitrate 80ppm

On 3/19 the readings where:

Ammonia 4ppm+
nitrite 4ppm
nitrate 80ppm

Just wanted to know if I'm on track and should I dose some ammonia or just let let it be. Thanks.
Sounds like you are getting a false reading on your nitrates. In a natural cycle, the nitrates don't start to build until the nitrites start to fall. Also, the nitrites don't start to build until the ammonia level starts to fall. You may want to take your test kit to your Local fish store and do a comparative test to their water using their test kits and yours. Once you confirm that you are getting an accurate reading, retest your tank because these numbers seem a little odd to me.
__________________
Andy Sager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 01:27 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 38
Yes, I am using the API kit. And yes, the ammonia is 0ppm. I have a 150g DT with a 55g sump and while running is about half full, ~ 25g or so. How much ammonia should I use for the total volume to achieve 4ppm?
Thanks.
__________________
need4fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 01:37 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Terrance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,577
Its too time consuming to achieve 4ppm since hobby test kits do not show around 4ppm (I've done it at 5ppm and it was extremely time consuming). You don't really need 4ppm though. 3ppm or less is actually better. Several drops a day in your tank is good enough.

What type of filtration do you have? (ie canister, hob, live rocks, etc)
__________________
Kind Regards,
Terrance
Terrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 01:43 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Sager View Post
Sounds like you are getting a false reading on your nitrates. In a natural cycle, the nitrates don't start to build until the nitrites start to fall. Also, the nitrites don't start to build until the ammonia level starts to fall. You may want to take your test kit to your Local fish store and do a comparative test to their water using their test kits and yours. Once you confirm that you are getting an accurate reading, retest your tank because these numbers seem a little odd to me.
I'll have to do that but it'll have to wait till Monday since my LFS is close to work and I'm off tomorrow. But for the time being can I test a new batch of ro/di salt mix as a reference? Nitrates should be zero.
__________________
need4fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 01:51 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andy Sager's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lake Wales, Florida
Posts: 5,959
You can

Quote:
Originally Posted by need4fish View Post
I'll have to do that but it'll have to wait till Monday since my LFS is close to work and I'm off tomorrow. But for the time being can I test a new batch of ro/di salt mix as a reference? Nitrates should be zero.

You can when you know what the results should be. I'm thinking you're getting a wrong reading on more than 1 test which is why I suggest comparing all yout tests to another test kit. If the two test kits come up with the same answers, you know you can rely on yours. Then take it from there.
__________________
Andy Sager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 01:59 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terrance View Post
Its too time consuming to achieve 4ppm since hobby test kits do not show around 4ppm (I've done it at 5ppm and it was extremely time consuming). You don't really need 4ppm though. 3ppm or less is actually better. Several drops a day in your tank is good enough.

What type of filtration do you have? (ie canister, hob, live rocks, etc)
Thanks, I'll do that. BTW, 100lbs base rock and 100lbs of LR in 150g and a 55g sump.
__________________
need4fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 02:00 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Sager View Post
You can when you know what the results should be. I'm thinking you're getting a wrong reading on more than 1 test which is why I suggest comparing all yout tests to another test kit. If the two test kits come up with the same answers, you know you can rely on yours. Then take it from there.
Gotcha, thanks!
__________________
need4fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 10:51 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 3,287
I found out while comparing testing methods with a friend he was always getting nitrate readings a lot higher than I did. I don't know why since the tubes were rinsed out well and it seemed like we were both doing the same thing including using the same test kit. It might have been the way he shook his up. We did side by side comparisons one day and his was higher than mine. What 2 old bored adults do to fill their time when looking at a fish tank lol.
__________________

__________________
joy13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nitrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NitrAte spike, what causes it? Convict2161 Cichlid Discussion 128 04-05-2012 07:50 AM
Help with High Nitrite level Rashad Cichlid Discussion 17 03-24-2012 02:48 AM
nitrite bigben2057 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 20 03-22-2012 12:17 PM
Are my Ph levels to high? Maxp123 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 03-22-2012 02:53 AM
High Nitrite & Ammonia, New tank stevennosti Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1 03-22-2012 01:20 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.