Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-04-2009, 05:42 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 787
hissing RO/DI unit

I got my hands on an RO/DI unit and I am slowing filling a rubbermaid tub as I write this. Is occassional hissing normal from these units?

I've got a 50GPD and the going is very slow. There is a slow hiss that seems to be coming from the waste water connection.
__________________

__________________
Jaybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 05:43 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Charlton, MA
Posts: 544
Mine has a hissing noise whenever its on, so its normal.
__________________

__________________
AMDPhenomX4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 05:48 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 787
or maybe we're abnormal

Thanks. It's not leaking water or anything, just that hissing noise. I sure wish there was less waste water and the RO/DI water was flowing faster. It's going to take a long time to fill the 90G and sump and refuge.
__________________
Jaybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 06:35 PM   #4
Algae Fighter
 
JustOneMore20's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 3,872
Send a message via MSN to JustOneMore20
A hiss makes me think of a leak, but if you don't see any leaks, then its probably normal. Mine doesn't hiss but it kinda makes a humming like sound (hard to describe).
__________________
~Kristin~
2 planted tanks: 40g, 20g ; 38g Reef tank
My links to pics: 40g breeder planted build, 40g breeder planted update, My 38g Reef Build

JustOneMore20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 12:38 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 589
Unfortuantely with RO units, the waste to "good" water is like 80-20.

Me, when I had a larger saltwater, I cheated on the first fill-up. I used distilled water for half, then filled up the other half with spring water. It was pricey but it was better than wasting about 100 gallons of water and I was able to fill the tank immedaitely instead of it taking 3 days.

I also cheated in that I didn't have liverock or sand in the tank when I filled it. I just filled the tank with water and then dumped in the salt according to level I needed and the tank gallonage. With two powerheads, the salt mixed nicely in about 30 hours and then I proceeded to add the sand and liverock. Once I got the initial cycle done, I then started using RO for my water changes.

That tank ran beautifully for three years until I had to move and ended up converting to freshwater due to a job change and desire for a lower maintenance tank.
__________________
tlkng1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 01:08 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 787
I've got the tank about 3/4 of the way full. I've added salt and a heater to the main tank and salt to the sump. The salt levels are not perfect, but they will get there. I usually leave the RO unit running overnight and then fill the tank in the morning.

I'm looking at putting some LR into it tonight. Not the whole shabang, but a good chunk. the LR is already cured, so I'll drop in a shrimp (from the supermarket) to keep the ammonia going. The rocks should displace enough water to have the sump connected via the overflow.

I'll have to put up a thread on tank progression. I had to make my sump out of a 20G long and made a totally ghetto overflow box from clear acrylic.
__________________
Jaybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 02:20 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Where Is your R/O unit located. I have my unit hooked up in the utility room and run the waste water into my washing machine. No waste.....
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 03:19 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 787
Quote:
Originally Posted by thincat View Post
Where Is your R/O unit located. I have my unit hooked up in the utility room and run the waste water into my washing machine. No waste.....
It's by the sink near the garage. It's about thirty feet from the tank down a hallway and the washing machine is upstairs. Hauling 30G of water in a garbage pail is hard enough, I'm not hauling that stuff upstairs too
__________________
Jaybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 03:24 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by thincat View Post
Where Is your R/O unit located. I have my unit hooked up in the utility room and run the waste water into my washing machine. No waste.....
That's what eventually plan on doing when I get my Sump/Fude reloacted down to the basement/laundry room.

So, I assume you have a holding vessel, like a 55gal Drum where you store your waste water? If so, how do you get it from the Drum to the Washer?
__________________
goisles1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 06:41 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 589
Thin cat...that is a good idea...didn't even think of that. It just so happens I am using the connection to a utility sink in my basement and running, the "good water" line up under my sink and then out to the container. My washer is right next to the utility sink

Thanks for the good idea.

Terese
__________________

__________________
tlkng1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro/di, unit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RO/DI unit??? weekf Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 10-15-2006 05:40 PM
RO unit DI ?? OceanMist Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 09-07-2006 08:25 PM
My New R2 Unit travis simonson General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 07-30-2006 09:06 PM
RO/DI unit swiftwing7 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 15 10-13-2004 03:42 AM
HELP! ro water? hissing? pomme Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 10-27-2003 03:48 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.