Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-19-2003, 11:10 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 168
Send a message via AIM to AngelFishFan
Holding Tank

How Do You Acclimate New Fish, coral, and anenomes into your aquarium? Holding tank? float the bag just as in freshwater? slowly change water over the course of an hour? Any help is appreciated!
__________________

__________________
AngelFishFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2003, 11:18 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Acclimation
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2003, 11:24 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 168
Send a message via AIM to AngelFishFan
So I dont need a hospital tank? or do i? if so, how do i set it up to be on the same system as my regular tank?
__________________
AngelFishFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2003, 11:29 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,131
yes a qt tank is a very good thing, use water from the main tank too keep the water perimaters near the same readings
__________________
e-cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2003, 11:42 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 168
Send a message via AIM to AngelFishFan
is there a way to connect the two? Do i really need a quarantine tank, since i am just a beginner?
__________________
-Keegan
AngelFishFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 02:44 AM   #6
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelFishFan
is there a way to connect the two?
Never share anything with the QT. Any equipment, nets, filters and such can either infect the main tank or possible add meds that may have been used and destroy an otherwise healthy ecosystem in the main display tank...

Quote:
Do i really need a quarantine tank, since i am just a beginner?
From beginner to advanced hobbiest, don't go fish shopping without one

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 08:23 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 168
Send a message via AIM to AngelFishFan
For a 75 gallon tank, what size tank should I use as a qt tank? Also, when I buy new fish, should i add them straight to my aquarium? or put them in the quarantine tank for a few days? What kind of filter should i have in the qt tank? just a filter? aeration? just an empty tank? or with live rock? I need all of the help i can get. Thanks
__________________
-Keegan
AngelFishFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 09:58 AM   #8
Sam
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: West Caldwell, New Jersey
Posts: 347
Send a message via Yahoo to Sam
If you do a search on quarantine tank here you should find some information, also I think that there is an article in the articles section. Basically a QT (recommended for all new fish) can be nothing more that a standard 10G tank. I will tell you what I have so you can get an idea of how this works. I bought a 10G starter kit from Petco for about $50. That included tank, HOB filter, hood, light and heater. Now I also use a FW dip for all of my new fish livestock, but basically, you have to consider all new fish you acquire and the water they are in as having parasites and all sorts of icky stuff in it (at least the mental image of it ) With that said the goal would be to not contaminate anything else with that. I have utensils (nets, buckets etc.) that I use specifically and only for the QT tank. So my procedure is to fill up the tank with either water from your main tank, or fresh pre-mixed saltwater, check and adjust the temp and salinity. If you use a FW dip, there is a whole procedure for that, if not, follow the usual acclimation procedure for new fish and then net the fish and place in the QT tank. Avoid getting any of the transport water in the tank. I also keep a spare filter for the QT tank in my diaplay tank sump so that after I set up the tank and before I introduce the fish, I swap out the existing filter for the seeded one. This is necessary because at the end of the quarantine period (minimum 2 weeks) the QT tank should be cleaned and sanitized before adding new fish to it. It is also recommended to keep the lights low initially to help de-stress the fish. There are a variety of ways to do this. So by keeping a spare filter in the main tank I always have a bed of bacteria ready. Simplistically this is about it. You should also add some hiding places for the livestock in the tank and nothing else, no sand or gravel etc. It is recommended and I use, cut sections of 2" PVC pipe for this and it works well.

So in summary, it is recommended to:

Quarantine all fish
Quarantine for a minimum of two weeks
Use display tank water or fresh seawater for filling the QT
adjust temp and salinity
Acclimate fish
Add to QT (do not add any shipping water)

When ready to add to the display tank, acclimate with display tank water and add fish to the main tank (do not add QT water to the display tank)

HTH 8)
__________________
Happiness is defined by the joy we bring to the lives of others, for without that, we ourselves cannot be.

Me
Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 10:42 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 168
Send a message via AIM to AngelFishFan
wow. Thank you so much for that. That painted a really good picture as to what i should do. One more thing, do you recommend a sand base? or gravel? And any rock? or just a barren tank? Thanks Again
__________________
-Keegan
AngelFishFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2003, 10:51 AM   #10
Sam
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: West Caldwell, New Jersey
Posts: 347
Send a message via Yahoo to Sam
For the QT, nothing except some pieces of PVC and if you have it (I use it) a couple pieces of aquascaping rocks (You can find these cheap in like a Walmart). Remember the reason for this is that this all has to be sanitized after you transfer the livestock into the display tank, so keep it as simple as possible.
__________________

__________________
Happiness is defined by the joy we bring to the lives of others, for without that, we ourselves cannot be.

Me
Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
holding, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
holding blackomen Cichlid Discussion 16 02-25-2010 11:14 PM
Salt Water holding tank WelshTom Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-02-2005 08:50 AM
2 1/2 gallon holding tank IL Poppy828 Archive 5 03-28-2005 07:58 AM
My temp - winter holding tank lori_z3a Freshwater & Brackish - Coldwater, Native Fish & Ponds 0 12-24-2003 12:18 PM
Building an indoor holding tank for the winter. suggestions? RubixCube Freshwater & Brackish - Coldwater, Native Fish & Ponds 8 11-26-2003 12:55 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.