Holding Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AngelFishFan

Aquarium Advice Activist
How Do You Acclimate New Fish, coral, and anenomes into your aquarium? Holding tank? float the bag just as in freshwater? slowly change water over the course of an hour? Any help is appreciated!

So I dont need a hospital tank? or do i? if so, how do i set it up to be on the same system as my regular tank?

yes a qt tank is a very good thing, use water from the main tank too keep the water perimaters near the same readings

AngelFishFan said:
is there a way to connect the two?
Never share anything with the QT. Any equipment, nets, filters and such can either infect the main tank or possible add meds that may have been used and destroy an otherwise healthy ecosystem in the main display tank...

Do i really need a quarantine tank, since i am just a beginner?
From beginner to advanced hobbiest, don't go fish shopping without one :wink:

Cheers
Steve

For a 75 gallon tank, what size tank should I use as a qt tank? Also, when I buy new fish, should i add them straight to my aquarium? or put them in the quarantine tank for a few days? What kind of filter should i have in the qt tank? just a filter? aeration? just an empty tank? or with live rock? I need all of the help i can get. Thanks