Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-13-2019, 09:04 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 17
How do I remove ammonia from RO/DI water?

I just purchased an Aquatic Life Twist-In 100 GPD 4-Stage RO/DI System for my 20-gallon tank. I didn't use the RO/DI water in the tank because it has ammonia in it. Instead, I used spring water from the store, but I was told that it won't sustain a reef tank for more than a few years. I want to use the RO/DI water from the system that I bought, but how do I get rid of the ammonia in it? Do I add some type of extra filter stage to my system?
__________________

__________________
jbeatts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 09:48 PM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 19,617
There shouldn't be ANYTHING in ro/di water. It removes everything and should have a TDS (total dissolved solids) reading of 0.00 after going through the system.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 12:01 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
King Fisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Nevada
Posts: 2,900
I agree with Sniper but an RO system will have a bit of TDS. Mine has about 10 ppm.
__________________
King Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 12:04 PM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,503
Did you throw out the first 5 to ten gallons of the RO/DI unit. They say that part is bad. Spring water is not always perfect. It looks clear but some times has contaminants. I used distilled water in my reef for the first years before my RO/DI unit.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 02:10 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by melosu58 View Post
Did you throw out the first 5 to ten gallons of the RO/DI unit. They say that part is bad. Spring water is not always perfect. It looks clear but some times has contaminants. I used distilled water in my reef for the first years before my RO/DI unit.
I followed the instructions and it said not use the first few gallons so I didn't. Should I just use distilled water?
__________________
jbeatts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 02:13 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank View Post
There shouldn't be ANYTHING in ro/di water. It removes everything and should have a TDS (total dissolved solids) reading of 0.00 after going through the system.
If there shouldn't be anything why do I have ammonia reading?
__________________
jbeatts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 05:03 PM   #7
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 19,617
Well, 1. what test kits are you using? 2. is there a reason you are testing for ammonia specifically? 3. get yourself a TDS reader for your ro/di water. 4. do you know the psi that the water is going through the system? It should be around 90 to work 'appropriately'.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 04:39 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,639
your tds should be close to 0
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2019, 01:45 PM   #9
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,503
Until you get it straight use distilled. Using a RO/DI should get rid of the ammonia. Is this a four stage. Never mind I see it is.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2019, 03:23 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by hackteck View Post
your tds should be close to 0
Itís at 1 ppm.
__________________

__________________
jbeatts is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia, ate, move, rodi, water

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cycled Filter did not remove Ammonia... jennymph Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 04-02-2018 12:52 PM
Should I Remove My Carbon and Ammonia Crystals? Danny. Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 11-02-2010 09:30 PM
will a PUR or similar water filter remove ammonia from tap ? General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 14 08-09-2006 07:08 PM
Carbon will remove any chemical but will ammonia? imrandome1 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 06-01-2006 07:13 AM
Brita filtered water: Ph 7, softens water, remove bad stuff Blucat Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-21-2005 09:12 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.