Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-11-2004, 07:08 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 153
I am sorry I have the air hose. It fell when we took the pic.

Once it is in how do I adjust it and what is the goal of the adjustment. What do we want to accomplish?

Thanks. We have my hospital tank up but nothin in it we will test it out in there.

Christina
__________________

tuwhada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2004, 08:11 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 471
I have the jebo hang on...the instructions say to adjust the air valve (on the hose) like this: start the skimmer with the valve all the way open, then tighten the valve until the water line is at the base of the collection cup, soon after bubbles should work their way to the top of the tube and over into the cup...if there is no valve it may be designed to run open on that model...keeping the water line there takes some attention especially over the first few weeks...also the hose or valve will occasionally clog and flood water out the top of the unit...fortunately for you, it will be in sump and you'll avoid the wet floors I had...
__________________

__________________
hey half the fun is dreaming it up!
srgetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2004, 01:24 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 153
great thanks. The air hose came in the box with the pump and there is not valve on it. There is a valve on the pump do I let that run full speed?

Thanks
Christina
tuwhada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2004, 06:53 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 471
yes! where is the water line with it running with no air valve?
__________________
hey half the fun is dreaming it up!
srgetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2004, 11:43 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 153
I did not get a chance to check it yet, and I have to go to work soon. I don't want to run it with no one home so I will hopeuflly play with it a little tongiht.

I will post later.
Christina
tuwhada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2004, 11:53 AM   #16
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 3,968
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadManMac
I have only adjusted these once they were setup, so I am not 100%, but you can always stick it in a nucket and test it out. I do that all the time.
Where does one buy a nucket?
__________________
Bearfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2004, 03:12 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 426
Bearfan, I am not sure where to buy a nucket, but if you PM me I will tell you where you can put one!



j/k
__________________
Hook'em Horns!
MadManMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2004, 11:28 PM   #18
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 3,968
Fair enough.
__________________
Bearfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2004, 11:30 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 153
ok I tested it out today. And the air bubbles went up the little cylinder but I don't think I had it running long enough for it to over flow into the pump. I did notice that it was putting out alot of microbubbles. I was advised to add an air valve and adjust the air flow to elimintae the microbubbles and that the bubbles in the cylinder should only go about half way. does this sound right?

Thanks
Christina
tuwhada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2004, 02:30 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Crete Illinois
Posts: 656
Quote:

MadManMac wrote:
I have only adjusted these once they were setup, so I am not 100%, but you can always stick it in a nucket and test it out. I do that all the time.


Where does one buy a nucket?
I think you just got busted by the AA Spelling Police. LMAO
__________________

__________________
125 Gal-35 Gal Wet/Dry-Tetra-Tec PF500 HOB Filter
(3) AuquaClear 301 Powerheads-600 GPH Circulating Pump
Automatic Tempature Controller
5-6 Inch Sand Bed-200+ lbs of LR
Sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
one more thing.. krap101 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 10 01-22-2006 02:25 AM
55 gallon set up and 25 gallon set up in coastal nc beachbumin Archive 5 09-19-2004 10:19 PM
What is that thing? mitche8359 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 09-17-2004 07:24 PM
What is this thing JJCRIC Saltwater & Reef - Identification 3 07-26-2003 08:08 PM
Is there such a thing? Salt4Us Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 12 07-05-2003 12:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.