Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-30-2004, 09:12 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6
How is this for a filter setup

How is this for a 55 gal FOWLR:

Prizm Protein skimmer
Marineland Penguin BIO-Filter
2 power heads
Some Live rock
__________________

__________________
kthehun89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2004, 09:23 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lompoc, Ca
Posts: 1,313
Send a message via AIM to XXFirefighter Send a message via Yahoo to XXFirefighter
I got a 55...
90 pounds of LR
55 lbs of LS
Aqua C Remora skimmer
2 Maxijet powerheads 1200's
Emproer 400 no bio wheels or floss filters just baskets filled with AC..
How much rock u got?
__________________

__________________
XXFirefighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2004, 09:39 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6
Not to much, 20 lbs
__________________
kthehun89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2004, 10:00 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: West Chester, PA
Posts: 128
I have the same exact setup as XXFirefighter, except I don't have that much rock yet, but it seems to be working pretty good!!
__________________
Hookman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2004, 11:31 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 471
Quote:
Not to much, 20 lbs
You could always add some base rock, then your lr will seed it into lr... stuff like sold at www.highrocks.com or actually some lfs sell it as "coral rock" for around only $1 / lb - just an inexpesive idea, you should have at least 55lbs in there to keep a healthy tank. What kind of substrate do you have, sand?
__________________
hey half the fun is dreaming it up!
srgetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2004, 11:37 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 6
sand, highrocks.com doesn't work, some camp's website. Also what fishes would be good for this setup?
__________________
kthehun89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2004, 11:56 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Posts: 34
Its hirocks.com Hawaiian Islands.
__________________
soupy11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2004, 10:31 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 471
Quote:
Its hirocks.com
My bad.

Quote:
Also what fishes would be good for this setup?
A 55 gives you around 11" of fish using the 1"/5g rule. That does not mean a 10" fish should be in there, though. I'd say you'll probably want to get fishes that will not exceed 5-6 in. fully grown, anything larger will stress the fish and cause problems or need a new tank. Damsels, gobies, jawfish, blennies, Clownfish, are good to name a few. Then possibly a dwarf angel maybe are possible when the tank is several months old. Here, check this site it gives the min. tank size for each fish...

http://www.marinedepotlive.com/fish.html
__________________
hey half the fun is dreaming it up!
srgetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2004, 12:41 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
the Prizm skimmer isn't gonna be enough for a 55gallon. the Prizm Pro...maybe..but for that price I'd get CPR Bak-pak, or spend a little more for a Remora.

the standard prizm, with deluxe accessories, is starting to barely be able to handle my understocked 40gallon tank.
__________________

__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, setup

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good filter setup? papa_bear_21 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 08-18-2007 09:30 PM
how do you filter a betta-setup like this?? Bubble_B0y Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 05-14-2006 03:58 AM
55 gal filter setup & CO2 setup Codefox Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 8 01-10-2006 10:59 AM
Does this filter setup look correct? Drzy General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 11-14-2005 12:23 AM
New Setup - Used filter question berns Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 08-24-2005 06:10 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.