Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-25-2011, 09:39 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
RICH305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 330
How long does a tank take to cycle??

They told me that the tank is cycled right after some ammonia spike that is suppose to happen? Is this true? How long does it take for a tank to cycle??
__________________

__________________
RICH305 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 09:44 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
kenny69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by RICH305 View Post
They told me that the tank is cycled right after some ammonia spike that is suppose to happen? Is this true? How long does it take for a tank to cycle??
I guess it depends on who "they" are lol. It can take between 4-6 weeks, occasionally longer or shorter.
__________________

__________________
kenny69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 09:47 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
RICH305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 330
Lol they friend with a 150 gallon tank filled with corals and another 300 gallon tank with aggressive fish I didn't monitor my levels but I've had these fish in for about 2 weeks and had live rock for 1 week before adding fish?
__________________
RICH305 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 09:51 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
Check ammonia nitrite and nitrate when ammonia spikes then goes to 0 then nitrite spikes then goes to 0 and you have nitrates your basically cycled

Sent from my HTC ANDROID INCREDIBLE using Aquarium
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 09:54 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
RICH305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 330
Well I have had the fish in for three weeks I checked my ammonia level today and it was zero can it be possible that it has cycled?
__________________
RICH305 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 09:56 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
Sure but I would check nitrites and nitrates too just to be sure

Sent from my HTC ANDROID INCREDIBLE using Aquarium
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 09:56 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
kenny69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by RICH305 View Post
Lol they friend with a 150 gallon tank filled with corals and another 300 gallon tank with aggressive fish I didn't monitor my levels but I've had these fish in for about 2 weeks and had live rock for 1 week before adding fish?
Not sure if SW tanks cycle faster than FW however I have been cycling my 100 gal FW cichlid tank for about 4 weeks now and I still have nitrites at 1ppm, just waiting for the nitrates to kick in hopefully soon. You need to monitor and test your water, I test it daily and keep a record. I do partial water changes every second day as I have fish in my tank and I don't want to stress them with high levels of nitrites, Ammonia is now gone. Basically you should initially get an ammonia spike, followed by nitrite spike, which will in turn lower your ammonia, eventually (longest part) your nitrates will kick in and when you have no traces of ammonia or nitrites and you have gradual increasing nitrate your tank is deemed cycled. Hope this helps. This can take several weeks. If at any stage you see your fish gasping at the surface do an immediate partial water change, like 40-50%, they could be suffocating.

Ken
__________________
kenny69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 09:59 PM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Read our articles section on cycling a SW tank. You really need to understand the process.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 05:17 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 637
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenny69 View Post
I guess it depends on who "they" are lol. It can take between 4-6 weeks, occasionally longer or shorter.
so what you are saying is 4-6 weeks...or less....or more...JK:p

The best answer is it takes as long as it takes. you will see a spike in ammonia. it will start to go down and you will see a rise in nitrites. they will go down and you will start to see a rise in nitrates. your tank is cycled when you see only nitrates. do a 50%-75% water change and you are ready to go.

My best advice is when you think it is finished go another week. Time and patience is everything in this hobby. Plan plan plan there is no such thing as a good impulse decision in this hobby.

there is a lot that can influence that time. I did not see any cycle in my first tank because I used LR from a tank that was being torn down.
__________________
mdaniel2882 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 06:03 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 988
Quote:
Originally Posted by RICH305 View Post
Well I have had the fish in for three weeks I checked my ammonia level today and it was zero can it be possible that it has cycled?
That's very possible. Your live rock could have cycled your tank, depending on a couple factors; or you could have just completed a fish-in cycle.
You need to have a reliable test kit and check Ammonia, Nitrite, and Nitrate regularly. As suggested by austinsdad, you really need to fully understand the Nitrogen cycle; don't rely on anyone else but yourself.
__________________

__________________
jenatron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, long, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How long should it take for a used tank to re-cycle MYTY1705 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 3 02-26-2011 02:57 PM
how long to cycle jackm Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 10-06-2005 01:26 PM
How long will the tank cycle per gallon? mr86mister Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 23 06-10-2005 08:47 AM
How long does it take a tank to fully cycle? pittchic Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 02-18-2005 07:15 PM
How long did it take your tank to cycle? Heineken Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 12-20-2004 01:12 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.