Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-26-2011, 07:16 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Cox82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 153
How many gallons per pound of sand do you loose?

Sorry if this is a repeat guys. I tried the search function, but didn't find the correct information.

I am adding the sand and water this weekend. I'm wondering how many gallons of water you loose with the sand addition so that I can add the right amount of salt.

I have a 33 gallon, I'm adding 33 pounds of sand.

Thanks so much!
__________________

__________________
Cox82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 07:21 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Badfishofbabylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 362
There is no gallons to sand ratio, its not like live rock. In fact some people have bare bottom tanks.
__________________

__________________
Badfishofbabylon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 07:30 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
carey's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Deltona, Florida
Posts: 20,962
Youre' talking about water displacment right? I would start with enough salt for say 28g and then test and adjust from there. Just make sure to let the salt sit for hours or overnight before you add more so that it is all dissolved.
__________________
180g Reef - 60g Rimless Reef -90G FOWLR- 125g Malawi Cichlids- 40b REEF- 34g Fresh Planted-working on- 20L FOWLR- working on
I have a mix of many different saltwater fish amongst my tanks, but I love my Tangs most of all.
carey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 07:56 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Ricksreef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Newport News
Posts: 1,109
You need to mix your salt in your water in a barrel or other type container , not your DT.
__________________
Ricksreef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 08:27 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Cox82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 153
Thanks so much! I am just starting the DT so I have mixed it in the tank, well, I put 1/2 in a bucket and kept refilling and dumping until it was dissolved, so more of less in the DT. I'm adding the sand tomorrow and I'll test it all out then, I'm not adding anything this week, so I'll have the time to play around with the salinity.

Thanks for the fast replies!
__________________
Cox82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How many gallons in a 32 gallon Brute? LarryS Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 09-22-2011 10:18 PM
What is your routine for maintaining 100+ gallons? Terrance Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 07-11-2011 03:55 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.