Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-01-2012, 06:52 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 31
How many power heads

Can I use one vortech in my 150 tall
__________________

__________________
poolguy72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 10:41 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
hultsmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bandera, TX
Posts: 16
Send a message via AIM to hultsmark
Of course you can. The question is do you want to since that is a pretty good size tank. I am running at 1270 gallons per hour on about a 200 gallon setup when you count the regugium. I plumbed two pumps so they can be alternated with the water changes. This gives me a backup and time to find a replacement should one pump fail.
__________________

__________________
hultsmark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 10:46 PM   #3
Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
 
mfdrookie516's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Winchester, Ky
Posts: 19,410
What model were you thinking? The MP60 pushes up to 7500gph
__________________
-Jonathan

"What, exactly, is the internet? Basically it is a global network exchanging digitized data in such a way that any computer, anywhere, that is equipped with a device called a 'modem', can make a noise like a duck choking on a kazoo." - Dave Barry
mfdrookie516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 05:03 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alberta canada
Posts: 2,360
Send a message via Skype™ to kdpuffer
Quote:
Originally Posted by hultsmark
Of course you can. The question is do you want to since that is a pretty good size tank. I am running at 1270 gallons per hour on about a 200 gallon setup when you count the regugium. I plumbed two pumps so they can be alternated with the water changes. This gives me a backup and time to find a replacement should one pump fail.
Really you run that little flow? From what I've been reading that's not even enough for a fowlr. I'm runnin 2100 gph on my 55
__________________
kdpuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.