Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-24-2006, 11:32 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 2,108
Send a message via AIM to hc8719 Send a message via MSN to hc8719
how much LR should i use to cycle the tank?

eventually (maybe around december) i'd like to set up my 10 gal nano.

now ive been told to use LR to cycle a tank, and that i may loose alot of the life on my LR. how when i start, should i put in just one peice of LR to get they cycle started, but risk losing all life on the rock?

or

should i put in all the LR i will need, all at once, in hopes that the tank will cycle faster, and therefore not loose much life in the long run. this is risky though if alot of the life dies when it hits the non-cycled water though

i dont know how many lbs of LR i want, considering i dont know how much a piece weighs, but you can imagine how much a 10g could hold
thanks
__________________

__________________
"Atrocities are not less atrocities when they occur in laboratories and are called medical research."
George Bernard Shaw
hc8719 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 12:11 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
Quote:
should i put in all the LR i will need, all at once, in hopes that the tank will cycle faster, and therefore not loose much life in the long run. this is risky though if alot of the life dies when it hits the non-cycled water though
If you can cycle your tank with real LS and cured LR it would speed things up. The water itself does not carry much benefical bacteria. I would set up the tank and mix the water in it with nothing else. Bring it to the correct SG and temp and let it circulate for a couple of days. See if you can find some LS from an existing tank to use. Add cured LR after that and monitor parameters.
__________________

__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 12:58 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: arizona
Posts: 517
well to start, you'll need at least 10 lbs to efficiently cycle the tank, but more is better. And you'd be surprised at how much rock a tank can hold...i wouldnt be surprised if theres people with 30 lbs in a 10 gallon tank..tho they're prolly left with like 3 gallons of water lol. But the more the better as far as filtration...however since its only a 10, you're very limited on the amount and size of fish you can have anyways, so overdoing it on rock isnt really sensible imo, unless you just like the look.

Anywho...add it all at once. You really wont be losing much life on the rock, if any. What type of rock are you getting? cured or uncured? As you may already know, uncured rock is just un-cycled rock, meaning theres not enough bacteria to break it down to its final stage. Cured rock is already cycled, so it already has the bacteria.

If you get cured rock, you're prolly not gonna even see a cycle, tho it will still be cycled since the rock is already cycled...and thats what you're trying to accomplish during a cycle...get all the needed bacteria to grow on the rock.

So if you get uncured rock, theres' die-off...that will give you a reading of amonia, and then nitrites (and of course nitrates). If you get cured rock, nothing is dead on it to even cause much amonia (if any at all) so there will be minimal spikes.

Either way, i'd add it all at once. That way it cycles or finishes it's spikes all at once. If you were to just add a bit right away, it will cycle yes, but then when you add more, you're just starting the cycle again (or spikes), so theres really no point in not doing it all at once. The pods and whatnot that are on the rock will for the most part make it thru the cycle or mini spikes, so i wouldnt even worry about them.

Quote:
this is risky though if alot of the life dies when it hits the non-cycled water though
i just read that part, so i dont really know where to fit it in to my book, so i'll just put it at the end lol. No, its not really risking anything...like i said, the pods and worms and stuff will make it thru fine.

Quote:
non-cycled water
to be technical, you're not really cycling the water, tho many people think you do. When you're cycling a tank, you're trying to get all the bacteria that breaks amonia down to grow on the rocks (or if you're using just a canister or HOB or wet/dry filter(s), then to get the bacteria on the media..same thing tho).
The bacteria doesnt actaually grow in the water column..just on any surface, but mostly the rock and sand. Oh, and that brings up another thing...

Live sand...imo, live sand is just a marketting gimmick to sell sand for double the price. Whenever you stir up live sand, you will likely see some amonia and nitrates and whatnot...so you basically have just started a mini-spike/cycle, so you'd have to wait at least a week...with dry sand, you dont get spikes.
Also, theres this stuff called arag-alive..i believe by caribsea...i hate the stuff. Its just a bag of wet sand thats supposedly "live"...theres not really any pods in there, and who knows how long the bag has been sitting on the shelf...the longer it sits, the more bacteria thats is "supposed" to be there dies...so you're getting less 'live" sand than you may think...

sorry for the novel, and hopefully it helps
__________________
sir_dudeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 10:31 AM   #4
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,242
Go to your LFS and get some already cured LS and LR and you probably wont see much of a cycle. Lando hit it on the head on his directions.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
starting a second tank. Speed up cycle w/ first tank water? turbovr6 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 11-28-2007 12:11 PM
New Tank Instantly at CYCLE level equal to other tank SKEET Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 07-09-2006 10:12 PM
Cycle-- How do YOU Cycle your tank? DragonFish Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 16 01-02-2006 12:02 AM
New tank: jump start cycle with bio wheel in existing tank? twestrope Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 11-02-2005 04:54 PM
To cycle or not to cycle.... (2-gallon tank) fearlessfisch Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 3 10-17-2004 01:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.