Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-29-2014, 04:36 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
h8z2luze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to h8z2luze Send a message via MSN to h8z2luze Send a message via Yahoo to h8z2luze
How soon and how much to run my skimmer?

I have a bubble magus curve 5 skimmer.* It's rated at 140 gallons.* *It worked awesome in my last setup.* *I'm wondering how long after initial setup should I run it and should I run it all the time or just once in awhile.* *My whole system will probably be about 30 gallons.* *I know I have heard you can over skim...



Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
h8z2luze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 05:12 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
nelix10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 468
Run always! And start now!
__________________

__________________
nelix10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 05:24 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
h8z2luze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to h8z2luze Send a message via MSN to h8z2luze Send a message via Yahoo to h8z2luze
But there is no water in my tank yet... Haha

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
h8z2luze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 05:30 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
h8z2luze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to h8z2luze Send a message via MSN to h8z2luze Send a message via Yahoo to h8z2luze
What about during cycle?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
h8z2luze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 08:37 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
gleach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Orange County, CA,
Posts: 588
I have one to think mine could be defective it doesn't bubble up as high as I assume it should maybe due to the lack of proteins to skim in my tank because I have no fish yet. Yesterday I turned it up a little and came home from work today and found it was not producing bubbles at all. I thought it was broken so I pulled it out and right when the water got almost to the bottom as I was pulling it out it fired up and started working again? WTF

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
gleach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 08:39 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
h8z2luze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to h8z2luze Send a message via MSN to h8z2luze Send a message via Yahoo to h8z2luze
How much water are you running it in. As in how high on the skimmer is the water level.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
h8z2luze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 08:51 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
gleach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Orange County, CA,
Posts: 588
Almost half way up the neck it's actually just below half. When I first bought it the thing would overflow like crazy. I went online and saw that bubble magus recomended a minimum of 9in on the water level. I tried that and it still went nuts no matter where I set it to. After a few weeks the bubbles went down way down so I talked to my lfs whom I purchased it from he told me to set my level to where I can see the bubbles forming at the water line in my sump and to set the water line in my sump at half which puts the level around 6 or 7 inches. He showed me the same exact skimmer that he uses in all his sumps in a working sump the level of the water was lower that what I have now yet his skimmer was working great. Mine now produces bubbles but not quite as high as I As it should. That's not my concern I think it just needs more to skim out. I'm just worried there may be another issue it was almost as if the pump was seized up.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
gleach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 09:06 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
h8z2luze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to h8z2luze Send a message via MSN to h8z2luze Send a message via Yahoo to h8z2luze
Hmm... That's weird. I had mine at like 10'' I think.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
h8z2luze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 12:06 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
nelix10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 468
Every model is different level needed! Final adjustment can be very finicky! Water level and air have to be just right! Especially for namo skimmers
__________________
nelix10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 01:04 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
h8z2luze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to h8z2luze Send a message via MSN to h8z2luze Send a message via Yahoo to h8z2luze
Well I figured he had the same one as me cause he said he had one....

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
h8z2luze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
skimmer

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How soon is too soon to add coral? dmolavi Saltwater Reef Aquaria 34 03-21-2013 11:28 PM
How soon is too soon??? DOMINATOR Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 22 05-06-2011 11:46 PM
How much does it cost to run your tank? kribbman General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 27 02-24-2009 06:40 PM
How much electricity to run a big tank? fprintf Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 10-02-2005 07:09 PM
To run or not to run....Protein Skimmer Avi Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 07-13-2004 05:58 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.