Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-01-2011, 08:12 PM   #1
member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,063
How to cycle 2 gallon saltwater aquarium.

Is going to be a dwarf seahorse tank. Just added salt today. How exactly do I cycle such a small tank? Like for larger tanks I hear leaving a raw piece of shrimp in and let it disintegrate and watch the PH ammonia nitrate nitrite consistently. But how do I cycle for such a small tank? And when i do weekly water changes of 25 percent of the water, should I just buy prepared saltwater with like 0 ammonia and everything? Because won't I need to cycle the new water?
__________________

__________________
Dylan5359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 08:35 PM   #2
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Do the same thing with this tank as you would with an other tank. Just leave a raw piece of shrimp in there.

Anyways, it seems to me that you don't understand the concept of cycling a fish tank, so read this article. Cycle your salt tank

It will teach you how to cycle your tank properly.

Also, could you get your hands on something like a 5G instead of the 2G? I know recommendations state between 2 - 5 - 10G's, but with a 2G, you will quickly find yourself running out of space. Just something to think about.
__________________

__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 08:36 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Your cycling the tank and some kinda surface area for the bacteria you create when you cycle will live on. The water will come and go. What are you putting in the tank? Sand? Rock? 2g is gonna be tuff I believe. Need some water movement in there. Filtration thoughts?
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 09:01 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Dawsonville, Ga
Posts: 1,285
Send a message via AIM to Flake
I don't know how you're going to keep a 2g pristine enough for sea horses. I had a 3 running for a while and man, that was tough! Too much flow, or no surface agitation, no filter options, used lr, topped it off nearly twice a day.

I agree with zero, maybe slightly larger? If nothing else, to make your own life easier?
__________________
Flake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 09:05 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
JOMA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MARYLAND
Posts: 1,164
i also have just set up a 2 gallon and i was wondering if i could put pure ammonia in the tank to cycle it (instead of raw shrimp), i have some left over from cycling my freshwater tanks.
__________________
Brought to you by Joey's brain.
__________________
Hakuna matata.
JOMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 08:21 AM   #6
member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,063
Thanks. And yes you could use that pure ammonia. And I was thinking of letting my herd grow before upgrading to the 5 gallon.
__________________
Dylan5359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 08:50 AM   #7
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Yep. Pure ammonia is fine to use. I plan on using this method for my current setup when it's time to filler 'er up.
__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 02:08 PM   #8
member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,063
Hey im using the shrimp method to cycle. Do I put the tail in as well?
__________________
Dylan5359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 02:18 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Badfishofbabylon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 362
I dont think it matters, but I would just cut the tail off
__________________
Badfishofbabylon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 02:25 PM   #10
member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2,063
Thanks thats what I was thinking
__________________

__________________
Dylan5359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2 gallon, cycle, salt, saltwater, saltwater aquarium

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Starting Cycle in Saltwater Colt17 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 02-04-2010 12:52 PM
37-Gallon Saltwater Aquarium Boulder Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 30 08-03-2009 12:18 PM
1600 Gallon Saltwater Aquarium yetee Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 01-28-2009 07:44 PM
WTS 75 gallon saltwater aquarium bmb4516 Archive 1 04-03-2008 11:57 PM
My new 10 gallon saltwater aquarium with my fish MafiaMan Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 8 01-05-2006 07:44 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.