Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-25-2005, 10:53 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 247
Send a message via AIM to binaryterror
how to make sure ur sink water is good

Hey, i got a test kit for xmas, and I am wondering what I need to know to make sure that the water from my sink is OK for my tank. Please state what I need to test, and what the level should be around to be sufficient. Also, since I got all the equipment and LIVE SAND (yay!!!) for xmas, what should I wait for the levels to be when the tank is done cycling, and how many damsels should I get. I was thinking 3 but I have no idea. I really dont want to do the shrimp method because I feel that the damsel method is easier. so please dont tell me to do the shrimp method, i have already looked into it and dont want to do it. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
binaryterror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2005, 10:56 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 85
http://www.liveaquaria.com/general/g...al_pagesid=352 that should help...look under the salt water section, you want things as close to that as you can id say.
__________________

__________________
BigTruck6o2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2005, 11:00 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 247
Send a message via AIM to binaryterror
thanks, that helpd but I wanted to know what exactly to test for to make sure my sink water is OK. Also, which should I follow for an Octopus tank? FOWLR? (I will have LR)
__________________
55g main tank
10g sump
ViaAqua SK300 skimmer
40lbs. LR
40lbs. LS
binaryterror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2005, 11:24 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 96
You would need to test for nitrates and phosphates from sink water. Personally I don't think that's the problem with sink water. You should be more worry about copper. Sometime during the way to your house it's very likely that the water ran through some copper pipes. The copper would leech into the water IMO that's worst than nitrate and phosphate.
__________________
aznbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2005, 11:30 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 247
Send a message via AIM to binaryterror
Oh ok. So if theres no nitrates or phosphates or copper, its OK to use? is that all I need to test for?
__________________
55g main tank
10g sump
ViaAqua SK300 skimmer
40lbs. LR
40lbs. LS
binaryterror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2005, 01:09 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
You want to check for chlorine/chloramine (see this article. ideally you want to use RO/DI for top off water and for water changes.

You seem to be in a rush to stock a marine aquarium. You don't say how big your tank is but you are thinking of adding 3 fish. How do you plan on cycling your tank?

What is your filtration system? Do you have any LR?

The best advice I received on this forum is that nothing good ever happens quickly in a marine aquarium.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2005, 05:30 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central Kentucky
Posts: 6,015
Send a message via AIM to greenmaji
easiest solution.. get a relitivly cheap new RO/DI off ebay..

if your bent to use tapwater and you really think its close to sutable you would need to get a sample anilized by a lab to be certian.. (the cost of the RO/DI is actually cheaper)
__________________
greenmaji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2005, 10:10 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
Nitrates, silicates, phosphates, ammonia, nitrites and get a test kit for HD and test for metals.
And I will say it you need to rethink your method of cycling the tank... Use a SHRIMP and not the fish. You say the fish is easier? How??
Shrimp, lets see you toss it in the tank and your done!!!!
Fish, you acclimate them then feed then check water and when the levels get too high you need to do a water change to keep the fish alive. Now the cycle may last longer..
You need to slow down and read up on the cylce and Octopus also. They need a tightly sealed tank and with a overflow box I don't see that happening.
Nothing good happens fast in this hobby.....

How much lr will you have and what size tank.. Is this the 50-55?
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2005, 11:24 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 7,224
Send a message via Yahoo to Hara
I agree with my fellow advisor on this one. Read the articles that abound on cycling, then read them again until you understand it. The tank goes through a highly toxic phase to fish, why would you want to submit any living creature to that? A person new to this hobby should not even consider things such as an octopus tank. As far as what the reading should be when the tank is through cycling, all should be at zero. 0 ammonia, 0 nitrite, 0 nitrate.
__________________
Hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2005, 11:45 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 247
Send a message via AIM to binaryterror
Ok, I will take all of your advice. I will use the shrimp method. Do I just toss it in or should I break it up into peices? It is a 55g tank, and I will be getting about 30lbs of LR to start. I know what I need to do for an Octopus tank. I have been reading for weeks. I will be making a sump, as recommended. Is distilled water OK to use? If it is, I think I will just fill up my tank with that, until I get enough for an RO/DI unt off ebay.
__________________

__________________
55g main tank
10g sump
ViaAqua SK300 skimmer
40lbs. LR
40lbs. LS
binaryterror is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would they make good additions Acronuts Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 6 10-03-2009 01:00 AM
Water Changes and Using Kitchen Sink Loui1 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 09-14-2008 06:09 PM
Making Driftwood Sink in Water? jbarr Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 09-03-2006 10:38 PM
make the wood sink muddlehead Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 12-05-2005 03:15 AM
Uhhh is adding sink water bad? chabooky386 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 02-10-2005 07:58 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.