Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-03-2013, 11:43 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Deenice49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 9
I need help to plumb my tank to my
Sump and drill it
Thank you
__________________

__________________
Deenice49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 11:52 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jjamontan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Queen Creek,AZ
Posts: 973
Dill like a pickle? If you mean drill there are lots of YouTube videos that will help you along
__________________

__________________
jjamontan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 05:12 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KIAH
Posts: 132
I can only show you how I did mine ... there as many "correct" ways to do it.

The overflow box is centered along the back wall of my (new) 100g tank:



Two 1.5 inch bulkheads for drains, Two 1" bulkheads for return(s).


Here's after it was plumbed to the sump:





drains into the left side of the sump, with the skimmer... through a bubble-trap into the return section (center) ... an extra line t'd from the main drain goes to the refuge on the left (with a valve to control flow.)
(This pic was before I added the return line within the tank/overflow... but that's just a section of PVC with a T and two Loc-Line return nozzles into the main part of the tank.)
The 4th hole I drilled is just capped off ... not being used, but might come in handy in the future.

Filled and cycling:




OK, here's one with the return lines plumbed:

__________________
IslandHopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 08:46 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Deenice49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 9
[QUOTE="Deenice49;2418409"] what do I need to put in my sump
To start it
__________________
Deenice49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 08:48 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jjamontan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Queen Creek,AZ
Posts: 973
What do you need to put in your sump to start? Are you making a sump or are you buying one?
__________________
jjamontan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 08:56 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Deenice49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 9
I have a Trigger systems crystal. 36"L/15"W/14"H
__________________
Deenice49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 09:43 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KIAH
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deenice49 View Post
what do I need to put in my sump
To start it
I'm not sure what you're asking.
um... you'll need to put water in it.

You'll also need a return pump.

Most folks would add a skimmer, but it's not technically necessary.

As for the refugium section, it all depends on how you plan to use it.
In that the whole point of a sump is to provide more filtration (as well as placement of equipment), you'd probably want some live-rock in the ref section at the least. Sand is optional... Once the aquarium's up and running, you'll likely want some macro-algae in there where it's protected from herbivorous fish in the display tank.


If you're still just wondering about the plumbing... water from the display tank needs to drain into the "socks" on one end of the sump... that section is also where most people would put a skimmer. The water then flows from there to the center "refuge" section... and then to the other end compartment where you'll have the "return pump" to pump the water back up to the display tank.
__________________
IslandHopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 12:42 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Deenice49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 9
Do you need a overflow box on you tank or
Can sill use my tank with out it
__________________
Deenice49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 01:43 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KIAH
Posts: 132
Yes, about he overflow box? ... It keeps fish from being sucked into the overflow drain, it also keeps you from siphoning all the water out of the tank (and overflowing the sump onto the floor) in the event of a power/pump failure.

It doesn't have to be as large as mine. If you drill a back or side panel near the top (rather than drilling through the bottom panel) then the "box" can be a smaller bit that just surrounds those bulkheads you drill.
__________________
IslandHopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 01:48 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Deenice49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 9
I have a 5 stage plus RO/DO system-75 gallon i hook it up i have low pressure it 28 so i got a 8800 booster pump kit and the pressure is the same at 28 with the booster can some one help me with this problems
__________________

__________________
Deenice49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.