Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-01-2005, 01:41 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: kansas
Posts: 297
How to use Cupramine?

I just bought a bottle of Cupramine to treat icks that my clowns have and am not very sure how to use it. Can someone please help? I have placed my clowns in a 10g quarantine tank. I just want to make sure that I don't kill them instead... Thanks in advance..
__________________

__________________
Sun~~
leesanhua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 01:53 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,111
Don't do anything until you have a good (matching?) copper test to go along with it. I know QS will chime in as soon as he sees the thread but in the mean time if you have the test kit you'll be one step ahead tomorrow. Good luck.
__________________

__________________
Phyllis

Join the NJ Reef Club Today! Saving the world's reefs one living room at a time!
MACNA XXI Atlantic City, NJ September 25-27, 2009
Phyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 02:29 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: kansas
Posts: 297
i have the copper test kit... aquarium pharma... ya.. that's the brand
__________________
Sun~~
leesanhua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 09:21 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Arkansas, USA
Posts: 278
Send a message via AIM to Ximat
It is always best to have a matching test kit, made by the same company. Your odds of getting more accurate test results that way.

To use the cupramine, read the directions very carefully. It will tell you exactly how much to use and how to use it. I belive the proper theropudic level of copper is 2.0 ppm. That's what I keep my QT tank at.

HTH
__________________
Ximat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 12:51 PM   #5
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ximat
I belive the proper theropudic level of copper is 2.0 ppm..
The proper treatment level for Cupramine is 0.5 ppm. In a 10 gal tank you would add just shy of one ml from the dosing pipette and then 48 hours later another dose exactly the same amount. The test kit will be needed to verify the treatment level has been acheived and when doing water changes.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2005, 12:59 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
Quote:
i have the copper test kit... aquarium pharma... ya.. that's the brand
Won't get an accurate reading with this test kit. You need seachem's multitest for copper.
I have tried aquarium pharma's kit with cupramine, IME I could not get a good reading.
__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2005, 12:28 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: kansas
Posts: 297
if i got the seachem's multitest for copper. how should i treat the fish with cupramine?
__________________
Sun~~
leesanhua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2005, 01:18 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: kansas
Posts: 297
the instruction showed that i need to treat 0.5mg/L. i mean how should i measure mg/L?
__________________
Sun~~
leesanhua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2005, 12:21 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
You follow the instruction on the bottle, so many drops per gallon (I think 2) for the first 48 hours. After the first 48 hours you boost the drug to full strength and measure the water for the correct level. You can then make any needed adjustments.
Make sure you test the level every day, evaporation can influence the reading.
Also dose and test your change water, this makes it easier to keep the dosage at treament strength.
HTH
__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2005, 02:31 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: corvallis or
Posts: 73
you want to make sure and be careful using cupramine with clowns...clowns have a low tolerance to copper levels...it seems sometimes to low to effectivly treat ick...if it dies i wouldnt count out the fact that the copper did it first.
__________________

__________________
Mbeef61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To Everyone with Cupramine Experience solidsnakejv Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 11-04-2009 07:56 PM
Hypo or Cupramine? HELP! fishman Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 6 01-28-2005 11:44 AM
PLEASE HELP-CUPRAMINE Fishboy-from-NY Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 23 08-22-2004 03:49 PM
I used Cupramine... rthoman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 01-23-2004 08:34 PM
QT tanks and Cupramine ercfish Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 10-13-2003 05:57 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.