I am considering moving straight to saltwater.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

N757QQ

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello all.

I am new here. I am also new to the aquarium world. I have been around salt & fresh water aquaria quite a bit. My brother & a friend have kept saltwater fish.

I decided, since I have always thought aquaria interesting, to start researching a while back for the eventual purchase of a aquarium. I bought a used 55g with everything included, ready to go. I cleaned it thoroughly, not using any chemicals, just elbow grease & water. I decided to go freshwater, and intended on building a display tank of peacock cichlid.

Long story short, the aquarium is cycled with fresh water in it now. I have a very specific list of fish that I am looking for & cannot find them for sale anywhere that I am not buying full grown adult males, or unsexed juveniles. I specifically want males, at the youngest I can get (in case anyone cares about the reason behind my asking). To that end, I have started considering just going straight to salt water, which is my ultimate goal. I want a reef tank, I think the coral is amazing.

Is it reasonable, with no experience, to go straight to saltwater? I am willing to read, and ask questions before I put a fish in water. I certainly do not want to hurt fish due to my ignorance.

I know that lights will need to be upgraded, and have read a little bit about the LED lights, and I know the lighting is significantly more important for reef tanks than otherwise. I have an API saltwater liquid test kit that I got from my brother. I know I need powerheads.

I have a 75g & 30g Aqueon HOB on the tank currently. If that sufficient until I get a sump set up?