Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-26-2011, 11:37 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Cool I am new at Marine Fish and I have Questions

Hello I am new to this site and to Marine fish.

My name is Heidi. My husband (Robin) has bought me a tank and Marine set up equipment and i've only just got to the stage of adding the Live Rock. It had Polyps growing on it and a load of little snails have hatched and it also have little silver bugs running around which i think are called worms, is that correct??? Now i'm just waiting for it all to settle down and the rock has started to turn a little while in parts, I hope thats ok??? I am not sure what fish i shall put in when its all ready, but I don't think i'm having corels, just a Fish Only tank. I'm not too keen on clown or yellow tangs, but would like pacific shrimps and a couple of mini hermits to start off with if i can have both??? I would like little fish of different colours that go with Shrimps/Hermits, is there any you could suggest????

Any advice would be welcome as i'm totall new at all this.

Old 01-26-2011, 01:14 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

First thing I would get a SW (Salt Water) master test kit so you can check the ammonia/nitrite/nitrate levels.
I understand you have a tank with "equipment" but that really doesn't say much. Do you think you could give us a run down of tank size, if you have a sump/skimmer/powerheads. What is your setup what substrate do you have. Maybe a photo?
There are lots of options for you. It sounds like your rock will start the cycling for you. I would suggest that you post some pictures of the snails and worms for identification but since you don't plan on going reef it's not a big deal. Don't be surprised if all the life on your LR's die.