I am new at Marine Fish and I have Questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

HeidiRobin

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello I am new to this site and to Marine fish.

My name is Heidi. My husband (Robin) has bought me a tank and Marine set up equipment and i've only just got to the stage of adding the Live Rock. It had Polyps growing on it and a load of little snails have hatched and it also have little silver bugs running around which i think are called worms, is that correct??? Now i'm just waiting for it all to settle down and the rock has started to turn a little while in parts, I hope thats ok??? I am not sure what fish i shall put in when its all ready, but I don't think i'm having corels, just a Fish Only tank. I'm not too keen on clown or yellow tangs, but would like pacific shrimps and a couple of mini hermits to start off with if i can have both??? I would like little fish of different colours that go with Shrimps/Hermits, is there any you could suggest????

Any advice would be welcome as i'm totall new at all this. :confused:

First thing I would get a SW (Salt Water) master test kit so you can check the ammonia/nitrite/nitrate levels.
I understand you have a tank with "equipment" but that really doesn't say much. Do you think you could give us a run down of tank size, if you have a sump/skimmer/powerheads. What is your setup what substrate do you have. Maybe a photo?
There are lots of options for you. It sounds like your rock will start the cycling for you. I would suggest that you post some pictures of the snails and worms for identification but since you don't plan on going reef it's not a big deal. Don't be surprised if all the life on your LR's die.
Depending on the size of your tank there are plenty of fish that can go with shrimp and hermits.