Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-22-2014, 05:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 153
I don't know why I have 0's...tank cycled?

So I've had my 33 gallon tank up and running now for about 7 weeks. I had previously posted regarding some green cyano and green nuissance algae here:

What is this green algae? Coralline?

One solution was to cut the lights for a few days. I did that, and it didn't make a difference really. I've scrubbed some of the worst patches of the cyano off. The algae isn't horrible, I am hoping it will just go. I've also taken an hour off of my daytime cycle hoping that will fix it.

However, when I first got the tank set up, I added a piece of live rock, a small bag of live sand, and a chunk of shrimp that I left in there for about 3 days. I didn't test my levels (I should have) until about 3 weeks or so later. All levels were 0. PH, Nitrate, Nitrite and Ammonia.

I thought maybe I had done something wrong.

About 6 days ago I put in a big chunk of shrimp. It is rotted to the point where it has broken up into shredded shrimp lol
I checked my levels again...all ZEROES.

Has my tank cycled? It's the only thing I can think of. There wasn't even a small increase in ammonia with the shrimp in there.

Also, my salt is at 1.008. I checked it about 6 weeks ago, and I added the proper amount of salt...1/2 scoop per gallon. I've even added more salt since. I checked the salt content and it is still at 1.008. Is my cheap hydrometer broken? It's one of those instant ocean ones with the plastic lever.

Sigh.
__________________

__________________
"What scares the heck out of me is how stupid people are out-breeding the smart ones."
Magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2014, 06:38 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Adamski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: London
Posts: 321
If I was you I would get a refractometer, those swing arm hydrometers aren't very reliable.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
Adamski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2014, 06:43 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Adamski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: London
Posts: 321
Also, have you ever had ammonia readings?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Adamski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2014, 08:17 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 153
Who makes a good refractometer?

No ammonia readings yet. Shouldn't I be getting something though?
__________________
"What scares the heck out of me is how stupid people are out-breeding the smart ones."
Magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2014, 10:24 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Chefjpaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 103
Dose pure ammonia to about 3ppm and test is 24 hours. That should tell you where to go from there.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
🐌
Chefjpaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2014, 11:48 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 153
Where do I get pure ammonia? My Fish store?
__________________
"What scares the heck out of me is how stupid people are out-breeding the smart ones."
Magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2014, 12:27 AM   #7
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
Hardware stores will carry it...but I prefer the simplicity of a single cocktail shrimp. As it decomps it provides a steady source of ammonia and then when you see a 0 you know you are ready.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2014, 07:34 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Magnus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 153
Tried that one Sniperhank...
__________________
"What scares the heck out of me is how stupid people are out-breeding the smart ones."
Magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2014, 10:56 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Chefjpaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 103
Use the ammonia JUST as a test to see if it is cycled yet.

Add 3ppm & test in 24hrs.
If its gone your good to go.

If it is, add up to 2ppm every three days until you want to add fish, keep the bacteria alive.
(Major water change first).

You can get pure ammonia (non scented), in almost any cleaning supply / hardware store.



Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
🐌
Chefjpaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2014, 01:14 PM   #10
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnus View Post
Tried that one Sniperhank...

And? How long did you have it in there? It takes a couple of weeks to cycle a tank.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, cycled, led, tan, tank

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tank Disaster, I'm killing fish and I don't know why! Snwbirdy Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 04-15-2014 11:06 AM
I'm not happy with my tank and I don't know why lyquidphyre Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 22 02-19-2005 12:42 AM
My Ph is dropping and I don't know why? clownfish Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 10-14-2003 11:34 AM
HELP! My tetras are dying 1 by 1. don't know why illuminum Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 10-11-2003 03:31 PM
My fish are dying and I don't know why. wabyrd Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 4 07-22-2003 11:00 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.