Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-22-2009, 07:35 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Copepod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hills of Northern KY
Posts: 192
Hi rchbn..welcome to AA. glad you are getting going up the right path now...is there anyway you can remove your Shrimp to a QT (Quarantine Tank) until your's is cycled? He could die from the spikes as invertebrates are more sensitive than fish. I hate to see you lose anymore.
__________________

__________________
I wish I could walk my fish ....
Copepod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 11:47 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: SW of Chicago
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Copepod View Post
Hi rchbn..welcome to AA. glad you are getting going up the right path now...is there anyway you can remove your Shrimp to a QT (Quarantine Tank) until your's is cycled? He could die from the spikes as invertebrates are more sensitive than fish. I hate to see you lose anymore.

No I don't have a QT yet. I'm looking at craiglist for a nice little setup to aid in bringing in new fish and medicating the ones with symptoms.

Rich
__________________

__________________
rchbn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 04:41 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kelowna BC, Canada
Posts: 149
How is it that you are going about preparing the water for changes?? are you letting it age atleast 24 hours?. If so, is the water circulating all the time? Make sure the water going in is the same temperature and salinity as the water coming out. I alsways make lots of water that sits atleast 24 hours before use. I have a bin with its own powerhead and heater going all the time for changing water. What do you mean by "test fish" in the #5 post?
__________________
sqrle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 09:26 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: SW of Chicago
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by sqrle View Post
How is it that you are going about preparing the water for changes?? are you letting it age atleast 24 hours?. If so, is the water circulating all the time? Make sure the water going in is the same temperature and salinity as the water coming out. I alsways make lots of water that sits atleast 24 hours before use. I have a bin with its own powerhead and heater going all the time for changing water. What do you mean by "test fish" in the #5 post?
That's what the shop called them, inexpensive fish to make sure the tank has been cycled and the water is healthy. I bought expensive fish not realizing that they were going to cause this ammonia spike due to adding them so the new shop suggested damsel fish to start with so I bought 8 of them yesterday and all is well so far! They are very active and fun to watch.
__________________
rchbn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 09:37 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kelowna BC, Canada
Posts: 149
If they were a responsible shop, they would have tested the water for you to make usre that it was safe. The place that I first went to wouldn't sell me fish until they tested my water, and was sure that it was safe. They have a customer for life now. i know that they respect the fish, and don't want any to come to harm to "test" the water. They have test kits for that.
__________________
sqrle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 09:40 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kelowna BC, Canada
Posts: 149
not to mention that 8 new fish at one time will most likely cause an ammonia fluctuation
__________________
sqrle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 09:58 AM   #17
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Hopefully someone reads this and learns from it. I can't tell you how many times I've heard someone say they filled the tank with rocks and sand and "let it sit for a while" to get it ready for fish. Having no idea what cycling is, or not owning a test kit.

Well Rich, looks like you're on your way now.

Good luck.
__________________

__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia, ammonia spike, spike

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ammonia Spike..... ikon Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 05-16-2007 10:46 PM
ammonia spike unclemd Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 02-15-2007 06:23 PM
Ammonia spike - what's up ?? joannde Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 07-29-2006 01:07 PM
Ammonia Spike canuckaquarist Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 18 07-28-2006 01:42 PM
ammonia spike MiniReef2004 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 2 03-20-2005 11:25 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.